We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Scene Cafe and Bar - CLOSED

La Scene Cafe and Bar
490 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1223
415-292-6430
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $36
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Californian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Taylor Street
Transit: La Scene Cafe & Bar is easily accessible via BART's "Powell Station", 5 blocks walking.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We picked this place because it was the closest restaurant to our hotel that was offering 1000 points on Open Table. I'm glad we did.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The prices were very reasonable. Two of us ate and had wine for $78. We did not have dessert. The soup of the day was fantastic. My wife had the crab risotto and it was excellent. I had the seafood linguine and I really enjoyed it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Breakfast at La Scene Cafe and Bar is a nice cozy experience. The salmon eggs benedict with potato pancakes were so warm and delicious. The waitress, Virginia, is such a delight. Every morning she greeted us with a smile and remembered our preferences for hot coffee and English breakfast tea. The continental breakfast is simple, but satisfying, with fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurts, and juices. The smoothies are so yummy. A great way to start a busy day in San Francisco.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Prix Fixe Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Between 5:30pm to 8:00pm and for only $38 (plus tax and tip), you get a quite pleasant 3-course meal. A good selection of meat, poultry and seafood is offered with more expensive options for an additional $5 to $7. The evening we spent was quite even though the restaurant was full. Most of the guests, because of the time, seemed to be the pre-theater crowd. For a meal you don't want to give much thought to, but want to enjoy, I recommend trying La Scene.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Located in the Warwick Hotel and in the Theatre District it is much better than one would expect .
Exellent service and they can get you out in time for a curtain. Their Prix-Fixe is a bargain , some (Rack of Lamb-and worth it) have a few upgrade costs. French Onion Soup could have been tastier but the Salads are very good, especially the Spinach. Trout, Salmon and Rack of Lamb all good and portion size generous. Lovely presentations, especially the Desserts. Tiramisu well flavored, small portion but beautiful

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only 1”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I were looking for a quick breakfast after looking around for a while so we stumbled across this place. Well firstly we had to wait about 5 mins just to get seated when half the place was empty! When we got in we had noticed that there was only one server! The continental breakfast bar was bare, the poached eggs were hard, we had to ask for refills and there were no napkins put out on the table : I mean how can you own a cafe bar with only one server? The only upside was the waffles that I had ordered. If the service was quicker this place would have been much better! We were left disappointed for our first breakfast at San Francisco!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Scene Cafe and Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scene Cafe and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.