We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asia SF

Asia SF
201 9th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3806
415-255-8887
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Asia SF is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #596 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Howard
Transit: Muni or Bart: You can take BART or MUNI to AsiaSF by getting off at Civic Center Station. Walk up Market Street to 9th Street, turn left and walk 2 blocks to Howard Street. The restaurant is on the corner of 9th and Howard. Or - You can take the F Line classic streetcars up Market Street and get off at 9th Street. Then walk 2 blocks south on 9th
Stockton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited for my daughter's 21st birthday. The "Girls" were beautiful and friendly. The food was fantastic. The entertainment was top notch. Will return again!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    20
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murphys, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Evening to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Took our medical office (8 people) to dinner on a Friday night and the staff loved the experience to the MAX - great food and entertainment - and yes the "girls" at sf asia are hot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cheesy, yet mildly amusing. Not for foodies!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We were hoping for a fun place to celebrate a big birthday for our brother. He had heard good reviews of Asia SF and put it on his Bucket List! We arrived and waited outside on their "red carpet". Once we checked in, they shuffled us downstairs to their bar. It was dark, loud, and full of party goers! A little uncomfortable at first and hard to carry on any conversation. Since we had a party of 3, they could only seat us at the bar. Only big parties got the tables. It was literally elbow to elbow! Their menu was average at best. Seemed to take forever and was nothing to write home about. The bartenders were cute and on top of it, which was one of the few highlights of the place. FYI, drinks are not included in the $50 per person price. The drag show was cheesy but mildly amusing. The majority of customers were bachelorette parties! We decided to bail after the show and skip the nightclub. Now we can mark that not only off the Bucket List...but now to the Overrated List.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food was so slow we walked out.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We went to Asia SF for dinner and a show. We got there a little before our reservation and were hearded downstairs to their dance club. It was empty yet still they had very little seating. We got called up and we were seated at the bar. This place is SMALL. Even the seats at the bar were placed close together. There was hardly any room to walk between the tables and bar...very uncomfortable. The bathroom was atrocious! We ordered our appetizer and got to see the first show. The show is a lot of fun. We waited around 30 minutes for the appetizer and it was average (satay). We waited over half an hour for our main course (it is supposed to be a 3-course meal served by the performers). We decided it was not worth the wait and left.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dinner and Entertainment - Very good & fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Asia is a very unique place. We love the food there. There menu is one of the most interesting, tapas style. A great place to taste and share. AND then there is entertainment on the bar. Don't want to spoil it, but I highly recommend for those with an open palette and mind.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia SF also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Asia SF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asia SF, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.