We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fino Bar & Ristorante

Fino Bar & Ristorante
624 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222 (Downtown)
(415) 928-2080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 4,920 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Crete, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was in San Francisco for work and was looking for somewhere to eat very close to the hotel... Fino fit the bill perfectly.

Walked in and was greeted and seated immediately. My server (Michael D) was great. Have been up for almost 17 hours, my brain was a little fried, but Michael worked with me. I was amazed at quick delivery of the food... barely read one news article and only one bite of bread. Had the linguine all bolognese, which was delicious! Hit the spot at just the right time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    377
    148
    38
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“True Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the staff at the Kensington Hotel and it turned out to be a delightful dining experience. It is only 2 blocks from Union Square and open for dinner only. We went there in June, 2013 with our 18 year old granddaughter. Our granddaughter had a well prepared Pizza Margherite (just like we had in Milan, Italy). I had the Vitella (veal) alla Saltimoca which was served with freshly prepared kale and roasted potatoes; my husband had the Piccata de Pollo (chicken) Limone. All of the food was well prepared, hot when served and the seasonings were pleasant and not over whelming to the dish.We finished the meal with sharing a lava cake and spumoni ice cream. The staff was very friendly, very helpful in describing the menu items and attentive without being intrusive. We ate about 6:30 pm and the restaurant was already filling up on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We ( 2 adults and our 15yr old daughter) have just had a perfect meal at Fino. We arrived at about 1730 and got a table easily but by 1800 it was nearly full. The dress code was smart casual and looked to be many locals which is a good sign. It has a lovely atmosphere and our server Charles was great helping us with the menu and giving great recommendations which we took and the food was fabulous every course and the wine was very good. I felt it was very good value for money especially for the quality of the food. All the staff were very friendly and this was the best Italian meal we had eaten and the highlight of our Frisco visit. The only negative for some would be the service was a little slow between courses but this suited us as the food is quite rich and we enjoyed chatting and letting the food go down. highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Put this one on your list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely delicious meal, wonderful service and reasonably priced!! We all enjoyed our meals from the appetizers (bruschetta w/ artichoke hearts and sun dried tomatoes was incredible) to the salads to the main courses. Not one complaint and I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in downtown San Francisco. We had reservations which I would also recommend so you are sure not to miss a great restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very often servers automatically steer you to pricier items on a menu. I knew we were in good hands when our server, Charles T., recommended a less pricey Merlot over other choices on the menu. (Trefethen Merlot; amazing.)

His excellent service continued throughout a very busy evening at the restaurant. It was Friday night, July 5th, and he explained they had not anticipated the large crowd they had. He moved efficiently but never hurriedly through the crowded room of tables, taking time to answer questions, refill drinks, etc. His advice continued when asked for recommendations from the food options.

While the room was busy, tables weren't on top of one another, and the atmosphere was very pleasant. Had the service been less exceptional the food might be more the focus of these positive comments. The meal was very good, but the service was virtually incomparable.

FINO will definitely be on the schedule for our next visit to San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fino Bar & Ristorante also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fino Bar & Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fino Bar & Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.