We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blowfish Sushi To Die For

Blowfish Sushi To Die For
2170 Bryant St, San Francisco, CA 94110-2128 (Mission District)
415-285-3848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blowfish Sushi To Die For is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #202 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 19th & 20th
Transit: Bus #27 stops at Bryant and 20th. Bus #22 & #33 stops at Bryant and 16th.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Slow staff, average food and overall a disappointing experience after the great reviews that I had received from my friends.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    10
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“It really is that good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I dine here whenever in San Francisco. They never let you down. Interesting sushi and dishes plus cool drinks. It's a little out of the way but worth the ride.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Blowfish Sushi To Die For - Innovative Asian Fusion Cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Blowfish Sushi To Die For has been open for over 15 years in San Francisco serving Japanese Fusion Cuisine with European and California influences. Executive Chef Ritsuo Tsuchida who is originally from Japan, recently saw the palates of his customers start to change and decided to revise the menu keeping “Favorites” but adding new menu items to stay ahead of the curve. The restaurant features an exhibition Sushi Bar where you can dine and watch the Sushi Chefs prepare your meal. You can also watch both classic and animated Japanese Movies on the flat screen behind them. There is a welcoming Bar with table seating that offers cocktails, Sake, wine and beer. The main dining room is spacious and there is outdoor seating weather permitting. We enjoyed the edgy art paintings by Lee Harvey Roswell on the walls throughout the restaurant. Sunday thru Thursday you can enjoy a live DJ spinning ultra contemporary indie-electro music.

We arrived early for our reservation and enjoyed cocktails at the bar. We loved both the Drunken Goose made with Grey Goose La Poire, St. Germaine and Prosecco which was ultra smooth and the Kosmos made with Kettle One Vodka, ginger, lime, pom and triple sec which was very lively! We were seated and our first course was the ever popular Fanny Bay Fire Oysters which were fire roasted, then grilled with pesto, melted jack cheese, wasabi tobiko and a drop of Tabasco. Another unique appetizer with fabulous presentation was the Pyramid of Tartare made with fresh tuna, salmon and avocado with a side of honey tartar and sweet ginger sauce served with house made potato chips. We loved the spicy Fiery Bincyo Sashimi which was seared albacore topped with sriracha bits, flash fried jalapeno chilies and spicy ponzu. Lastly, the delicate Halibut Crudo which is thinly sliced halibut drizzled with truffle oil and mango salsa with wasabi and American Caviar was delightful. The entrée that we loved was the Black Cod which was marinated in saiko miso on top of shemji mushroom risotto which came with a small salad. The cod melted in your mouth and the risotto was perfect! The 2009 Sonoma County MacMurray Pinot Gris paired perfectly with the entrée.
We saved room for desserts and they do take their desserts very seriously. The Zen Garden Kyo style green tea cheesecake with green ice cream and matcha sauce was delicious and the Olitalian Parfait made with layers of creamy mascarpone, genoise cake, crunchy bits of sable, topped with fresh blueberries frothy raspberry puree and blood orange sorbet was decadent and absolutely beautiful! Dragon Cracker Green Tea finished off our delightful dinner perfectly. Blowfish Sushi To Die For continues to lead the way with cutting edge Japanese Fusion cuisine and has an upbeat fun atmosphere! We look forward to returning soon.

Blowfish Sushi To Die For
2170 Bryant Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
415-285-FUGU (3848)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Went to this restaurant with my family as some of them live in SF. The restaurant itself is very relaxed with a lovely bar if you are waiting for friends. But the best is yet to come. The sushi is just amazing. I cant praise them enough. I was very impressed and will def be back again

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Love the toshi koshi roll, potero roll and greedy girl roll

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blowfish Sushi To Die For also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Blowfish Sushi To Die For? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blowfish Sushi To Die For, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.