We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small place in the mission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delfina

Delfina
3621 18th St, San Francisco, CA 94110-1531
(415) 552-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Birminghan,Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great small place in the mission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a fun neighborhood restaurant in the mission. Noisy but feels fun. The asparagus with Parmesan zabaglione sauce was so delicious I wanted to lick the plate. Gnocchi with ragu was standout. Nice wine list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    103
    30
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Our new fave eatery in SF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We live in SF and have our short list of go-to eateries. We'd heard of how good Delfina is for many years, but it's difficult to get a reservation. Finally, due to a last minute visit by an out of town friend, we got an 8 o'clock table on a Monday night. Delfina was packed but we had an outstanding meal. For appetizers, we ordered the grilled calamari, veal & proscuitto. We loved the artisan breads. For entrees, we had king salmon & pork. All were excellent, perfectly cooked with balanced flavors. For dessert, we shared the crema di chocolate. Our server was friendly & knowledgable. We peeked at the table next door and saw the roast chicken with olive oil mashed potatoes. We decided we must come back soon for that! For 3 people, with wine & coffee, our bill came to just under $200 with tip. The wine was $15 per glass, a little pricey. Overall, a stand out dinner we fully intend to repeat.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rendered speechless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Delfina was one of the highlights of an amazing 12-day trip in California that started in San Francisco & ended in San Diego. When I am blown away by bread & butter (softened & sprinkled with sea salt), we're off to a good start. Each course was delectable. Each morsel of the little pasta -- a homemade ravioli with chopped chicken served in a lemon butter sauce -- was a treasure on the palate. My main course, roast chicken with olive oil mashed potatoes, was prepared impeccably. The profiteroles we saw delivered to a neighboring table caught our eye & they were a perfect way to end the meal. Fine, fine dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Probably the best Pizza in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Culinary orgasm for 15$! Probably the best Pizza ever. I really hate it that you can't make reservations and have to wait in line for up to an hour, but I go there anyway every time, because the pizza is soooooo gooood!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

After several days of excellent meals in Napa, I wasn't sure how our first night in San Francisco would compare. This was by far the BEST meal we had on our trip. The service was amazing, everyone was so helpful and gave lots of suggestions, and the meal was from start to finish exceptional. I can't wait to get the opportunity to come back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delfina also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Delfina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delfina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.