We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic mussels at Aperto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aperto Restaurant

Aperto Restaurant
1434 18th St, San Francisco, CA 94107-2802
+1 415-252-1625
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aperto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #850 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Connecticut
Transit: 22 Fillmore
Description: Aperto restaurant is a small neighborhood Italian restaurant located in the heart of Potrero Hill.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Fantastic mussels at Aperto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had a lovely lunch at Aperto. Shared an tricolored arugula salad and then feasted on Aperto's oven baked mussels. Everything was delicious.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    22
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Real SF Real Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

great food friendly service great ingredients! This is what a great neighborhood restaurant should be!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quaint Italian restaurant with good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011 via mobile

My family and I are staying in the area and discovered this restaurant on an evening walk. We enjoyed the friendly wait staff who were inviting and attentive throughout the meal. But the meal, ah the meal was wonderful. Braised lamb, gnocchi, fresh pea ravioli and braised spare ribs -- we each enjoyed our selection with only empty plates left over.

Dessert selections were delicious so make certain to leave room!

A wonderful, pleasurable family memory. Thanks!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing meal on a quaint neighborhood street in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The food here is amazing, my husband and I eat here at least once a month! Make sure to check out the specials board, they are always coming up with new creative ways to serve grilled fish/meats and the soups are always tasty. Anything off of the regular menu is great too...I have probably had the roasted chicken a dozen times and it never gets old. The service is always friendly and helpful and the restaurant has a very warm cozy feeling to it. Aperto is also a good choice for brunch.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I went here a few times in 2004 and 2005 and loved it. It is now 2010 and I decided to try it again. Not so special, food just okay. I thought maybe they were just having an "off" night so I went back 2 weeks later and my impression was confirmed as it was even worse than the previous visit. Not worth the trip. Not even worth it if you live close by. I would try elsewhere as there are several restaurants in the area.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aperto Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Aperto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aperto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.