We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basil - Thai Restaurant & Bar

Basil - Thai Restaurant & Bar
1175 Folsom St, San Francisco, CA 94103-3930 (SoMa)
415-552-8999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #734 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: SoMa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Thai experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Found the place by advice from TripAdvisor.
Great, fresh food, nice service. Only 'but' is the noise level in the restaurant. If your looking for intimate conversation, this is probably not the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My New Year's Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I produce a New Year's Eve show at the Concourse Exhibition Center, and we have been coming here for our pre-show dinner for the past several years because the food is that good.

As far as Thai restaurants go, Basil Thai has a really diverse menu, and the cocktails are excellent! I tend to eat here whenever I'm in the neighborhood.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Came here on whim. Got there at about 6:30 PM on a Thursday Night. Restaurant is rather nice size and well decorated. It looked somewhat empty when we arrived. There were diners at the back, which was fairly filled up. Restaurant was full when we left. I guess they prefer to seat and start serving from the back to forward. Full bar which was nice. Menu is extensive with many plates to choose from.. We ended up ordering drinks and appetizers. Drinks were about average in price. Appetizers were delicious and filling. Price on the upper end. We had the Pan Fried Dumplings and the Chicken Satay Skewers. For the main course. Green Curry, Minced chicken stir-fried with eggplant, bell peppers, basil, and Thai bird’s eye chili, Spicy wide rice noodles, skirt steak, onions, carrots, & egg stir-fried with basil, garlic & chili and sides of Brown and White Rice. All were excellent. **Caution** The Spicy Wide Noodle was SPICY for my taste but, my wife a daughter loved it. Overall, good experience. If I'm in the area, I might drop by again. The only thing holding me back, would be the price. "King of Thai" makes the same entree's, just as good and at a cheaper price. Your pretty much paying for ambiance and full bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Thai dishes with great service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've eaten here several times and am always pleased with the result. The menu is extensive and the ambiance relaxed. The currys are delicious and the wait staff prompt and courteous, willing to explain the menu without hesitation. Recommended if you happen to be in the SOMA area at lunch time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I don't know if I would go out of my way to come here but being that I live near by I come quite often and am never disappointed. The yellow curry chicken is yummy and I really like their chicken satay.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil - Thai Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Basil - Thai Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil - Thai Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.