We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dottie's True Blue Cafe

Dottie's True Blue Cafe
28 6th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1602 (SoMa)
4158852767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 4,953 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: SoMa
Description: Now located in a beautiful 1910 building with brick walls and hardwood floors with an open kitchen and very cozy atmosphere. Roof top seating when the weather permits for coffee and pastries or a glass of wine in the afternoon. We have an additional seating capacity of approximately 24 making for a quicker turnaround.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having read all the reviews we decided to pop along to this dodgy area and stand in line for a table. We were not disappointed. Yes there are some strange characters around but ignore them the food is worth the wait. The chilli cornbread is well worth the wait in line. French toast was amazing. A great breakfast spot with some fantastic breakfast items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    221
    62
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Wow!.... but how you get there is important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Features unique selections and combinations such as black bean cakes, zucchini cakes, a sweet potato creation (this was a daily special), the BEST chili-cheddar cornbread and buttermilk dill breads! The daily specials are many and creative. The wait is out the door but moves quickly. We were there pretty much when it opened and still had a wait. We walked down 6th from Folsom and I would not do that again as there are many homeless and trash on streets. Stay on more popular streets. We walked back to our hotel taking Market and that was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best San Francisco Breakfast - worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Every write up says, "LONG LINES". We planned to end our 3 day Triple D trip with a visit early Monday morning. No line when we walked in at 8:30 a.m. 10 minutes later, a long line.
The cinnamon pecan rolls were soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good. As were the scrambles and the blue corn pancakes. Move over Buena Vista Café, this is my new favorite breakfast place. P.S. the picture on this review is the old place. The new place is a really cute.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in san Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

It Was our best breakfast in san Francisco. All that we try Was delicious. The place Was beautiful and perfect for star tiñe the day. Nice staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great spot with creative dishes. Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was our first stop in San Francisco. We found Dottie's from Diners, Drive-in's and Dives. The food was creative with large portions and farm fresh.

The several items we had were all great and I don't think you could go wrong with whatever you choose.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dottie's True Blue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dottie's True Blue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dottie's True Blue Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.