We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good but I prefer the old location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dottie's True Blue Cafe

Dottie's True Blue Cafe
28 6th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1602 (SoMa)
4158852767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: SoMa
Description: Now located in a beautiful 1910 building with brick walls and hardwood floors with an open kitchen and very cozy atmosphere. Roof top seating when the weather permits for coffee and pastries or a glass of wine in the afternoon. We have an additional seating capacity of approximately 24 making for a quicker turnaround.
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Still good but I prefer the old location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good breakfast place but I preferred the old location. The new location is larger, the line just as long. The breakfast was good and the service was average. It is definitely worth checking out, but get in line before they open. The Smoked Whiskey Fennel Sausage Scramble was great along with my coffee cake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    228
    64
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Local secret”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cinnamon ginger pancakes, wild boar sausage, scrambled eggs with you name it from ham to salmon. Pastries made in house, jalapeño corn bread, plum bread pudding. Dottie's True Blue Cafe used to be a local secret but is now known internationally.

Open for breakfast and lunch (I've never made it for lunch so review only applies to breakfast). Dottie's is located just south of Market in an area of SRO hotels. Neighborhood is improving but may seem dicey to a first timer. It's o.k. And there are so many folks in the line to get into Dottie's that the crowd ups the area.

Only drawback is the so so coffee and the less than thought out response to a request for tea. Bathrooms are spotless. Decor is mostly beautiful sepia prints of African American female singers from the 20s, 30s, and 40s.

The breakfasts are incredibly good, let me say that again "incredibly good". Did I mention the prices are reasonable? They are.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I walked to Dottie's from our hotel. It was not in the best part of town, but for breakfast it was safe enough. The line was out the door and around the corner. We got in line and debated...so glad we opted to wait! It was only about a 20 minute wait. When we got in the door, we were amazed at the atmosphere! The pictures from the 1920's, the music playing from that time period, the architechture, it was all just fabulous. Dottie's is a well-run establishment. The staff runs it like a machine! The coffee is outstanding, the breakfast even better. I had two eggs, potatoes and smoked chicken sausage with their homemade dill bread toast. The bread is fabulous! It was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. My husband had the three egg omelet with cheese, potatoes and the dill bread. Don't be in a hurry, but make the trip to Dottie's! LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ate here twice during our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVED it. Get there early, the wait is worth it but..get there early. Neighborhood a bit sketch, don't be scared.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Must try when in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Dottie's is a great must-try when in town! The staff are friendly, the interior decor is awesome, the vibe is so welcoming and the food is so good - Well worth the line up this place creates that bends round the corner. Highly recommend giving it a shot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dottie's True Blue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dottie's True Blue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dottie's True Blue Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.