We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, outstanding service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dottie's True Blue Cafe

Dottie's True Blue Cafe
28 6th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1602 (SoMa)
4158852767
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Neighborhood: SoMa
Description: Now located in a beautiful 1910 building with brick walls and hardwood floors with an open kitchen and very cozy atmosphere. Roof top seating when the weather permits for coffee and pastries or a glass of wine in the afternoon. We have an additional seating capacity of approximately 24 making for a quicker turnaround.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All I have to say is Coconut French Toast with roasted pecans and real maple syrup! The guy next to me had a vegetarian scramble, and his home fries had me wishing I had ordered eggs, too. Bring a big appetite OR ask for a half portion!

The staff is genuinely friendly and attentive--the best service I've seen in a long time.

But, bring cash!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    228
    64
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Unique Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food was good i had wild boar sausage and a scone. While everything was good i would have to say that the 1 to 2 hour wait takes away from the quality of the food provided.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Greasy food that is lacking flavor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Their potato was soggy mess. Pastry was just about average at best. Scrambled egg was lacking flavor and greasy. As a resident in SF, I would never go there again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super, huge breakfast - prepare for a wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cool, dim atmosphere, which was perfect for an early morning breakfast. We were there at about 8 am on a Monday morning, which seems early enough to avoid the typical line. The service was great, the coffee strong and piping hot, and the breakfast menu vast and unique - there is more to this place than just scrambled eggs and pancakes. Their baked goods are great too - for sure give the cornbread and jalapeño jelly a try! Check out the menu for a little bit more detail: http://dotties.biz/menu/
I've been to Dottie's for breakfast before, so I was aware of the pricey menu, but the people I was with were a little surprised. The tasty, huge breakfast made up for it though. Be prepared for leftovers!
Negatives: sketchy neighborhood, kind of pricey, can be a wait

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

They open at 7.30 am, make sure you arrive here before 7.45/8am because you might wait a good 30/45 minutes in line, no kidding. The decoration is nice, the food is delicious, their homemade bread is so good, the waitress was very kind. If you wanna have a good big breakfast that's the spot in San Francisco !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dottie's True Blue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dottie's True Blue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dottie's True Blue Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.