We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Francisco Magic Parlor

San Francisco Magic Parlor
433 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)
+1 925-852-8655
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All New 2015 Production in our 3rd Year! The San Francisco Magic Parlor's new production features magician David Facer. Journey deep into his "World of Paradox" and explore David's fertile imagination and creativity. In our third year the San Francisco Magic Parlor is offering new shows new magic, and a new ambiance while retaining the distinctive qualities that have made it a staple of the Union Square Entertainment scene. David Facer's shows combine theatre and magic performance-art. During this one-person show he is your guide into a make-believe land of Magic, introducing several of the eccentric and bizarre inhabitants of his fantastical world where "Impossible is Not a Word." David portrays five diverse characters in his "World of Paradox." Be enthralled by: Jack Winter and his Sideshow Sensations, Jakob the Mechanical Man with a Human Heart, the enigmatic Dream Dweller Nicolai Bayne, and magical prankster and adventurer Spellvin. Award winning magician David Facer conjures paradoxical mysteries at his fingertips. He has performed with Broadway legend Carol Channing, and entertains in nightclubs, cabarets, restaurants, and at private events. David has been showcased at the San Francisco Zoo, the Hyatt Regency, Six Flags, the Cliff House, and Twining Vine Winery. Time seems to stand still in our intimate Parlor conveniently situated within the historic 100 year old Chancellor Hotel on Union Square. The Parlor's gracious turn-of-the-century ambiance evokes the San Francisco of old. "Sidesplitting and heartwarming!" -Bread & Roses A spectacular and intimate one man show." -SF Bay Guardian "Just off Union Square, away from the bustle of the crowd, is a cozy and charming place..." -San Francisco Examiner
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I really enjoyed the show, what a howl! Just magic!!! Both informative, educational and impressive, I have no idea how he did most of those tricks - thanks Walt ;)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“San Francisco Magic Parlor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

In an atmosphere both charming and intimate, Walt Anthony weaves tales of San Francisco's most historical, eccentric characters with magic. Your experience is one of being seated in a small parlor, listening and watching as Mr. Anthony spins his stories and surprises you with sprinkles of "esoteric magic." Not your typical magic, not your typical magician.
Housed in Union Square's Hotel Chancellor, the atmosphere is quiet, intimate and inviting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wish it was better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am not not sure what other reviewers were getting by way of compensation for giving this show 5 stars...but it is not worth it at all. Walt sure tries, but the show is honestly pretty lame. The magic tricks are few and far between - interspersed with long drawn out stories of SF lore that seem like they were embellished by Walt's use of a Thesaurus or Dictionary to enhance his vocabulary.

I wanted this show to be better, I really did. That said, I would not waste 5 minutes of my time in SF to see this, let alone pay $40 bucks each to endure it on a Saturday night. Money is better spent seeing a local band or simply enjoying a quality drink or two in the evening.

Sorry Walt, but this show is old before it even gets going.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt A, Guest Relations Manager at San Francisco Magic Parlor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We truly regret that you did not enjoy your experience at the Parlor. Not everyone enjoys the same thing. If you were so displeased with your evening I wish you’d let us know, we want satisfied patrons and would have refunded your tickets.

I believe it was unkind to suggest that our 4 and 5 Star reviews were the result of compensation, this is not the case I assure you. TripAdvisor screens each and every review to assure legitimacy.

We stress in our marketing materials that this is not a “traditional magic show,” but presents tales of San Francisco highlighted with magical happenings. We describe our Parlor as: A theatrical journey where tales of wonder and shadow unfold in a performance style that seamlessly blends classic storytelling with classical conjuring.

Your review seems harsh considering we’re proud and humbled to say we’ve been given over three-hindered positive comment cards during the first six-months of a successful run, however everyone is entitled to an opinion. I’m pleased that TripAdvisor encourages comments from venue owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So, you sip your cocktail in a cozy Belle Epoque Parlor...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Walt Anthony is elegant and charming, and a consummate illusionist. His baritone banter whisks you back a hundred years or so- legends of San Francisco history and eccentric characters. The magic in mind-blowing! What a delightful way to spend an evening. This is a smooth ride in a time machine!

-V. Lazonga, Chicago

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Fun and Unique Entertainment Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Magic Parlor is a truly unique and fun way to not only be entertained but to learn about the fascinating eccentricies that are so much a part of San Francisco's history. Walt Anthony is a superb magician, but he is also a spell-binding story teller. Frankly, I would have enjoyed listening to the stories even if they weren't accompanied by amazing magical experiences. If you're staying near Union Square, then this couldn't be a more perfect and convenient night of entertainment. A huge BRAVO to Mr. Anthony!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco Magic Parlor also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco Magic Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Francisco Magic Parlor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.