We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special crab and noodles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Long

Thanh Long
4101 Judah St, San Francisco, CA 94122-1124 (Sunset)
415-665-1146
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sunset
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Special crab and noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Decided on Tranh Long based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed! Appetizers were 2 orders of the crispy rice paper roll with chicken, one Budda roll (vegetarian and gluten free), and the mango salad. We had three roast crabs for 7 people, 2 orders of the famous garlic noodles, vegetables and rice- all finger licking good! The creme brûlée was creamy and the fried ice cream was like a big donut filled with ice-cream. All pricy but delicious. Service was excellent and the noise level allowed conversation. Plastic bibs were distributed before and warm wet washcloths after our crab meal. We took the N Judah street car from our hotel near Union Square- stops outside the restaurant. Our friends from Marin County all found parking in the neighborhood (3 card) - but there is valet parking for $12. Will visit again when in San Francisco!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    58
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I enjoyed Thanh Long restaurant! The food is savory and delicious and the service was great! The atmosphere is very casual and you will find locals as well as tourists eating there. You will not be disappointed in your meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Theyve got the market cornered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food is very straightforward but good. The roast crab is good. I stopped talking when I was eating. The garlic noodles didn't do it for me. I'd rather have a bowl of rice with my crab. There are options for non seafood people. Overall, its very pricey but like I said they've got it cornered. Not too many doing this. Wouldn't make it a regular thing but maybe once a year to make it special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Thanh Long is a must stop visit when in San Francisco. This was my second time visiting and again it did not disappoint. The first time all I had were the garlic noodles and crab and my family and I could not stop talking about it. So when we had the chance to go again for a graduation celebration we could not wait. The appetizers we had were just as good as the crab and noodles. I cannot wait to visit San Francisco again so I can make another visit here. Be aware, they open at 5:00 PM and there are always parties waiting at the door for them to open.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Ate at Thanh Long in late February 2014. This was the first restaurant my family and I went to on our vacation to San Francisco. The food was very good. Ordered the garlic noodles which was more than enough for me (they give you a huge plate that everyone can share). My brother ordered the crab which was huge. It's a little cramped in the restaurant but after you immerse yourself in the food, you forget being cramped. Besides, its easier for other customers to lean over and say "Hey, what's that" or laugh at you trying to smash open one of the crabs. Lol. If you like crab, this is definitely a place you need to try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Long also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Thanh Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Long, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.