We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab and Garlic noodles..The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Long

Thanh Long
4101 Judah St, San Francisco, CA 94122-1124 (Sunset)
415-665-1146
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sunset
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crab and Garlic noodles..The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

They have the best Crab and Garlic noodles you ever had. Also, you must have the Creme brûlée to finish off the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    51
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Second time just as good as first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We returned to this restaurant for a second time while on vacation (and we never eat at the same place twice).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agryle, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Still a Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in the mood for crab so headed to Thanh Long. Great service, good crab (though $40+ for one crab), amazing garlic noodles! Not fancy, but nice. Lots of locals eating there too. A bit of a drive from downtown, but worth it. (There's a sister restaurant closer in called Crustean, but we like this one much better). Worth noting that they now take reservations - just call the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Sarisfaction!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the purposes to go to SFO was to have a great crab. Went to this restaurant and it was excellent. We ordered Roasted crab, Tamarindo crab and garlic noodle as everyone does. Both crab dish was very good and this noodle was just crazy. Had mussels and shrimp roll for appetizer.Mussels was also great.
We went to this area two hours in advance of our reservation to browse the area before dinner, but there is nothing around here. Middle of residential area. Ocean close to here is not accessible. Golden Gate Park 2 blocks from here is also too big to enjoy on foot. It was a wrong plan. But food was very worth it. Crab dish was $42 as market price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Good food -- breath taking prices!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Roast crab and garlic noodles are the specialty at this crowded, over-hyped place. Yes, the food is good and the service is above average for most Asian places but the prices are so high, they give you cause to wonder if this is worth it. I suppose if I could somehow justify this for a special occasion ( it would have to be very special) or if I were on a forgiving expense account, I'd go here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Long also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Thanh Long? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Long, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.