We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chose this because of the queue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Nanking

House of Nanking
919 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94133-5106 (Chinatown)
415-421-1429
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #341 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: House of Nanking is a staple Chinese restaurant in San Francisco. Our recipes transpire from traditional recipes that have been updated based on our own experiences. We like to recreate standard dishes and give it a twist. At House of Nanking, one of the popular things to order is in fact not to order yourself! We are fantastic at putting together a dish for you based on what you like. Our menu is constantly changing and dishes are rotated around. Some of our dishes, however, are favorites and have been around for quite some time. These special dishes include: Nanking sesame chicken, fried potstickers with peanut sauce, shrimp packets with peanut sauce, house noodles and fried calamari.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chose this because of the queue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Walked past this restaurant on a few occasions and there was always a queue so we tried it. 20 minutes to get in and well worth the wait. Try the chicken and sweet potato. Really great value.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Glad you finally got to check us out! It sounds like the chicken and sweet potato were a hit, although I'm sorry it took 20 minutes to get it. We can get pretty busy, but I like to think we're worth it! Hope we'll be seeing more of you this fall.

All the best,
Kathy, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    301
    101
    64
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip to SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

While waiting in line, a local advised us to let the owner order for us. Being adventurous, we agreed. Sure enough, the owner came out and asked us if we had ever eaten there and we answered "no". Then he asked if we were hungry, we answered "yes". Next he asked if we had any food restrictions, we answered "no". Saying nothing further, he proceeded to scribble down some Chinese on a pad, turned and walked away. Minutes later we received the first of four courses, all wonderful including the main course, their signature sesame chicken. Sure, no one smiles or asks you how your day has been but the food is worth coming back for. Best meal we had during a week long stay in San Francisco.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Sounds like you really got the full experience, and I congratulate you on being so adventurous and jumping right in! It's great to see that you loved all of your food and that we could be a special part of your trip to San Francisco. Stay in touch if you're ever in California again!

All the best,
Kathy, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Lost on me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I notice that other reviewers suggest getting the servers to suggest what to eat. I find it hard to imagine anyone I saw working there take the time to do this! The place is ok and the food is ok but I really can't understand what all the fuss is about. After queuing for ages to get in, it would be nice not to feel like the staff can't wait for you to get out!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I'm so sorry to hear that you felt rushed or unwelcome during your meal with us. Our take on dining definitely mirrors the Chinese restaurant style -- busy, no-fuss, and efficient -- but we can always take a moment to talk to you about getting you the best meal possible. On that note, it's a shame to see that you weren't thrilled by your order. Like I said, serving great food is our claim to fame -- I can only hope that you'll be willing to give us a second chance to show how great we can truly be.

All the best,
Kathy, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food/poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The sesame chicken and garlic fried fish were deliciously prepared. We also had the steamed pork dumplings to start. The problem that puts a question mark on the ownership and staff is the service! 5 tables seated after our party of two were catered to before I had to waive someone down and ask them to take my order! They didn't apologize, even though others that arrived after us had already received their first dish. The saddest part was the lone diner that was seated next to us that entered right before us didn't get any food for over 30 minutes! We left the restaurant at the same time and chatted for over 20 minutes after exiting. We both agreed that the food was great but the service left a lot to be desired! Bring you patience for a great meal!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with our service, especially since you enjoyed our food so much. We offer a traditional Chinese restaurant experience, which does require a different set of expectations. That said, you should never feel ignored. Know that I'll take your feedback into consideration, and I hope you'll be back to see us again!

All the best,
Kathy, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We avoided the lines by getting there early (about 5:20) but it was also starting to be crowded inside. Fortunately, we knew to let the owner order for us. He asked us a few questions about what we liked and we let him do the rest. (I did mention soup, which was a great idea.) The beef short ribs are possibly the best Chinese dish I've ever had, bar none.
By the time we left, the evening line had started to form.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Manager at House of Nanking, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Wow, the best Chinese dish you've ever had? That's high praise! Thanks so much for the compliment. You definitely had good instincts letting our owner order for you -- it often results in happy surprises (like that soup you mentioned). Coming early is a great tip, too -- we can get busy, but we like to think we're worth the wait. Hope to see you when you're back in California!

All the best,
Kathy, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Nanking also viewed

 

Been to House of Nanking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Nanking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.