We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B44

B44
44 Belden Pl, San Francisco, CA 94104-2802 (Financial District)
415-986-6287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
B44 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,050 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Bush & Kearny
Transit: BART Station. Montgomery
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spanish Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great litte spot in the restaurant alley at Belden Place. All types of restaurants in this alley off of Bush Street, but this is my favorite. The main dishes had lots of spanish variety and of course they had paella. Wine list was very foriegn, which is fine, but ity would have been nice to see some California wines listed too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    68
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, outdoor dining, fun neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

B44 is located on Belden ave, a large 'back alley' of restaurants, one friendlier than the next. I visit San Fran quite often, and B44 is a relaxing, authentic Tapas restaurant. The foods makes me think I'm in Madrid, and staff is always friendly and quick with the service. I highly recommend B44

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very authentic Catalan tapas experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Located on Belden Pl, an alleyway between Bush and Post, among other restaurants with outdoor seating this place can be a little hard to find. It was worth it for us because it was like a quick trip back to Barcelona. Right down to my husband chatting futbol with the owner who, of course, is a Barca fan. The wine list has plenty of nice by the glass choices. The Octopus appetizer was just okay, but the Lamb skewer was great. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the Financial District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A friend recommended this restaurant to us... little did we know it was about a block from our hotel (Galleria Park) which kind of sealed the deal for us. However, we would have never found it without the GPS on our phone as it is literally in an alleyway that is dotted with several restaurants with outside seating. It was a beautiful night so we chose to sit outside - they did have outdoor heaters which was nice because it got a little cold later in the evening. We go the squid appetizer, a mesculin salad, the paella and creme brulle and were pleased with our meal. The service was also excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nice Spanish Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

B44 is located on Belden Place, a little alley off Bush St. with several restaurants side by side. We wanted to try the tapas and drink sangria. The salads were good, but the octopus was tough and unappealing. The ceviche was OK. When the main courses came, I wasn't expecting a lot, but the ahi tuna on a bed a lentils was delicious! I would definitely order it again. A nice surprise was also the "cafe cortado" at the end of the meal: the espresso with a little milk had just the right sweetness and flavor, the perfect adios.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B44 also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to B44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.