We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not understand rave reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Da Flora

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Da Flora
701 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-2701 (North Beach)
(415) 981-4664
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #582 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: North Beach
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do not understand rave reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Arrived on a Thursday night at 7pm place totally empty..owner sitting in back of room did not get up
asked if ok to sit anywhere..Owner finally got up to take drink order and advised specials and
gave us menu...Wine came..asked if we had decided...asked questions about menu..curtly advised....husband decided on anchovy dish...when arrived there were no anchovies and when'
asked waiter he said said the chef used paste...not mentioned on menu...owner returns to our
table and tells us that there are anchovies but they melt in pan...husband asked if he could have
some anchovies put in and the answer was no...Strange...
I had the gnocchi which were good but not a wow factor
We have been to Venice and this was not a Venice menu.....before we departed there was only one other couple in the place..but people were standing outside looking at the menu in window

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    29
    7
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Best Italian I've had outside of Italy. The Sweet Potato Gnocchi is food heaven. Small restaurant and you'll need reservations, but we called in the morning and they were able to get us in.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in North Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

da Flora is a venetian-style trattoria that serves the most authentic Italian food in North Beach. This includes delicious antipasti, primi and secondi.Try the sardines in saor when available. The gnocchi are excellent as is the pasta. The main courses (secndi) often include organ meats like duck livr which is amazing. Flora has a huge wine selection and she really knows Italian wine. The pastries are all hand made on site and cannot be beat anywhere. This is a place were the locals go and you won't find better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've had the pleasure of dining here several times when I lived in the Bay Area. The signature dish of gnocchi made with sweet potatoes is fabulous as is just about everything else on the menu which changes with the season. The foccaccia and desserts are also excellent. The restaurant is small so reservations should be made and don't be late or don't make the mistake of leaving your cellphone on.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkhillsmom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our San Francisco Trip. We stumbled on this restaurant by accident. We saw the trip advisor sign in the window and decided to stop in for dinner. We were lucky. We did not have reservations and they were able to seat us. They turned several parties away the night we were there. Very small dinning area, but wonderful charm and incredible food. I would highly recommend if you go the San Fran get reservations at this restaurant. Food was so fresh and made from scratch. Hubby and I had two salads, two entrees and dessert. It was the best italian meal I have had in many, many years. Total bill with out tip was about 85.00. Well worth it. We know several people that are traveling to San Fran and highly recommended that they have dinner here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Flora also viewed

 

Been to Da Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.