We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of an excellent rating.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fifth Floor Restaurant - CLOSED

Fifth Floor Restaurant
12 Fourth St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)
(415) 348-1555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fifth Floor Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Market St.
Transit: Powell Street BART Station
UK
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Worthy of an excellent rating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I meet twice a year with a friend in SF for dinner. We had heard about this place from friends and gave it a try. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is situated on the 5th Floor of the Palomar hotel, has no windows (that I could see) and has that warm, clubby feeling of a San Franciscan Supper Club, albeit more contemporary. We were give a warm welcome and seated on time. Other than cocktails, we chose a couple of bottles of well priced Chablis which were delicious. An amuse bouche preceded a couple of excellent mains (Black Cod and Lamb). We went a la carte as I am getting tired of the tasting menus, which FYI, is an option here. Coffee and desert followed and drinks at the bar with friends who joined us for a nightcap afterwards. This was one of the more memorable meals I have had in SF, not only because of the food but the service and atmosphere of the whole place. We also never felt rushed and were given time to enjoy each dish and were left to chat in peace. Definitely suggest you try this place. I don’t think you will leave disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    66
    30
    11
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wow, I loved it. Dining here was fun, and kind of overwhelming. Great experience for the experienced foodie. Get your game face on!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant - don't let the bar intimidate you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Not so easy to find - you have to be determined to locate the Palomar Hotel, then navigate through the bar to find the restaurant. The bar seems like "the scene" but the restaurant is the true find! Carefully considered food, outstanding professional service, and a wine list curated by Amy Goldberg that should be the subject of a feature article in itself. I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the evening, and my guests from London were definitely impressed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good, but trying a bit too hard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had the tasting menu with a few of my husband's colleagues. The sommelier was friendly and helpful and guided us to a lovely bottle. The atmosphere was comfortable and understated, with windows on one wall revealing some rooftop planter boxes. Service was attentive. The food was very good, but tended to err on the side of overly self-conscious combinations of ingredients, where the waiters would set the plate down and launch into paragraphs of descriptions of every minute element. While we had a perfectly nice time, my husband and I had to hold back giggles as this meal conjured up memories of writer David Sedaris' descriptions of places just like this one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had the 8-course tasting menu with wine pairings, and it was a great experience and great fun. It gave us a chance to try dishes we would not ordinarily try, and for us, 6 out of 8 were outstanding. The wine pairings were superb. Tip of the hat to chef and staff. We had a great time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Floor Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifth Floor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.