We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trace

Trace
181 Third St, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly XYZ) (SoMa)
(415) 817-7836
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #548 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Howard Street
Transit: Two blocks from Montgomery Muni and Bart Station.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Situated in the W hotel, this restaurant has fantastic breakfast. The Yukon potatoes, the Trace breakfast, excellent granola, awesome buttermilk pancakes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    29
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Noisy but good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I was just off the plane from the UK and had an introductory meeting with some people we are hoping to work with. I could not hear a thing and whats more the lighting so bad I cold not easily read the menu. I had a starter and the pizza shown as a starter as my main course. It was very good and tasty but extremly large and could not eat it all. The waitress was super, friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Went for Breakfast - Basic Hotel Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a basic hotel restaurant - nothing special. I had seen the French Toast on the menu before we went. It was described as: "bourbon, roasted banana, toasted pecans caramelized white chocolate," so I was looking forward to it. It turned out to be the only selection we had that actually was not good. It was very dense - more like bread pudding - and rather dry with no banana favor at all. I ate about half. The picture looks pretty good, but don't be fooled. The rest of the selections were basic breakfast fare - good enough for fuel, but not up to par for a nice breakfast out. In short, there are much better places to eat in San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Young, Loud, Hip, Crowded, Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

W’s are known for its youthful vibe and the W in San Francisco doesn’t disappoint. The décor at Trace is edgy, the bar is packed with 20-30 something’s strutting their stuff, and restaurant is noisy. It’s not a place for conversation or a romantic interlude, but it’s definitely fun. The food is fantastic. Everything is very fresh, locally sourced, and they even keep bees on the 4th floor to serve their own honey.
Four of us enjoyed Gem salads (large portions, crisp, yummy cheddar dressing), creamy sweet corn soup, Liberty Farms duck breast, pan roasted rock cod, and Brant Beef bistro filet as entrees. Every bite was original, scrumptious, and beautifully presented. For dessert we had peaches and cream and a chocolate bar, both decadent, different, delicious! Service was prompt and pleasant. We had a Travelzoo voucher that included beverage pairings, giving us 3 drinks each: Proseco or lemon grass drop with soup/salad, Pinot Noir or Mr. Robinson with entrée, and Sherry for dessert. The sherry was good, but the other drinks were just okay. Four great breads are served with butter. What we didn’t like with this Travelzoo voucher was that the restaurant considered the beverages to be worth $175 (not worth that), thus the bill included tax and automatic 18% tip on the entire amount. We wouldn’t do a beverage pairing again, and dislike the policy of automatic tips for parties of less than six (tips are for service). Our server was terrific and we would have taken care of him well anyway. Corkage is $20. Valet parking is $15.00 with validation. Great location near Moscone Center, south of Market street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Needs Refreshing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This could be a cool spot, but needs a facelift. Plus, service was slow. We waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged, 5 minutes for a menu, and more time for her to return. Ultimately, we decided to head to the St Regis instead where the space was clean and service quick.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trace also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Trace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.