We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if You Are Small” 2 of 5 stars
Review of First Crush Restaurant Wine Bar & Lounge

First Crush Restaurant Wine Bar & Lounge
101 Cyril Magnin St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2129
+1 415-982-7874
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
First Crush Restaurant Wine Bar & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #592 of 5,004 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ellis St.
Transit: Muni, BART Powell St. station is 1/2 block away.
Description: First Crush offers a "casual upscale" atmosphere for individuals, private events and large parties in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square district, featuring the largest all-California wine list in the city. Low ceilings, polished decor and a cool backdrop of ambient music contribute to an intimate setting for enjoying First Crush's elegant American French cuisine. The restaurant has been awarded the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for fourteen years running.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Only if You Are Small”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We made a reservation with the Concierge in our hotel the the Parc 55 right next to the First Crush, little did we realize that Crush was the operative word. We arrived for our 7.15pm reservation and were shown down stairs into the "basement" our table was at the far end of this long low cavern, the middle table of three small tables. To say the space was tight is an understatement, it seemed we would eat as if we were in the middle seat of three on a plane, all wrist and no elbows.
We sat for a moment, but decided it was not for us and left, given we made our reservation well in advance we were somewhat disappointed to be offered, "the middle seat".
We obviously cannot comment on the food, but our brief interaction with Hostess and server, suggested our decision to leave was the right one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    81
    43
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maumee, OH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The bar is great, but the food is just so-so. I ordered a steak and asked for it medium rare and it was pretty well cooked and tough when it arrived at my table, so that was a bit of a disappointment. For the price ($35 for the steak), I would go elsewhere next time. There are tons of great restaurants for the same money in SF.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant place near our hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were staying at The Hilton Union Square, and needed a good place to eat nearby.
Then there are there not so many choices and we ended up here, because having walked along it already a couple of times we noticed it was generally well occopied, especially upstairs..so it must at least be reasonable. And so it was, nothing special but with good menu, well prepared food, fast and friendly service. Both the Bolognese lam for my wive as well the Halibut for myself were precisely good prepared. We were first to be seated downstairs close to the entrance but felt to much draught and could be seated further up
Bottom line ...good value for money ...provided your seating is ok

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“food was good, service was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

my husband and I came here for dinner Aug 22, 2013. They originally sat us downstairs which we were fine with but then decided to move us upstairs after we had been seated for about 5 minutes. We were given menus and had a chance to look at what we wanted for dinner. The first interaction from our waitress who worked downstairs was "Have you decided?" There was no hello, how are you, can I get you something to drink besides water, here are our specials, etc. It was "Have you decided?" This lady was very unpleasant, older blonde woman. We were moved upstairs and sat at the bar which was much better. The bartender was amazing, very nice and fun to talk to. The food was great but i'm really shocked at the service. How can a waitress expect to get a tip with that attitude?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place in a busy area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice to get away from the busy, touristy neighborhood in this cozy corner restaurant. Upstairs was where we were (ADA needs) and it seemed much nicer than the basement. Great music being played by the bartender. Excellent drink selection and great food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Crush Restaurant Wine Bar & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to First Crush Restaurant Wine Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Crush Restaurant Wine Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.