We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best oyster stew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Island Oyster Company

Hog Island Oyster Company
The Ferry Building Marketplace, One Ferry Building, #11, San Francisco, CA 94111
(415) 391-7117
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night
New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Best oyster stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stop by the newly reopened and expanded Hog Island Oyster Company inside the Ferry Building for brunch after shopping at the Farmers Market. Even though the space has been expanded, there is always a line here, with good reason. it is one of the best places for anything related to oysters or seafood in general. We prefer to sit at the counter so we can watch the oysters being served but if you prefer being outside, the view of the Bay and the Bridge are magnificent. We always start with a dozen oysters on the half shell, followed by an oyster stew or a clam chowder. Perhaps some salad, or a crab dish. No matter what you order, you will not be disappointed. And the bread they serve is delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    227
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Oysters and more oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The queue started forming before 11.30 am and we were the 2nd group in queue; waited till 12pm on that particular day before they opened. By then, the queue was snaking long. So do queue early. Had their oyster platter and (skip the clams which are tiny and not that fresh) grilled oysters, which were great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Maybe best chowder .....ever.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Situated right on the water in the Ferry Building you will find : simple and clean décor, great place to grab " small bites'' to share over a quick drink . Grilled small peppers, fried small anchovies, raw clams and oysters on half shell and best of all, their chowder. Maybe their claim to fame. An added bonus was our waiter , Dylan, a rotund , heavy set and jovial fellow who completed the experience with his demeanour . Ask for him to serve you !

FYI, The line up moves quite fast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Salmon and Steamers - perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Wow, we stood in line for this and was it worth it!!! Line moved quickly and solo diners and couples got in even faster. We were 3 and sat at the bar overlooking the cooks - noisy but fascinating. We agreed to sit there so we could get in quicker. Fast and excellent service and it was SO very good! My salmon was served on a small collection of fava beans and veggies surrounded in a tiny bit of sauce or broth. I wouldn't change a thing and I am both gourmet and gourmand. With a glass of wine and a beer our bill was about $50 - cheap for San Francisco! We will put this on our return trip! Tonight we go to the Tadich Grill, which I'm sure will be pricier; we will see how they compare.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Bay Bridge light show and exceptionally fresh seafood. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We got there at 9:00pm with no reservation. 30-45 min wait. We put our name in anyway. BUT it was only a 15 min wait. And it was worth the wait!!! We sat at the shucking bar with a view of the Bay Bridge which has a light pattern show. The waitress recommended two different types of oysters. Delicious! And have a watermelon martini while your there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Island Oyster Company also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hog Island Oyster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Island Oyster Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.