We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like Yank Sing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yank Sing - Rincon Center

Yank Sing - Rincon Center
101 Spear St (One Rincon Ctr), San Francisco, CA 94105
415.781.1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Chilean, Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“There's no place like Yank Sing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I could eat here almost every day. For a vegetarian, Yank Sing is one of the few places I can enjoy a wide variety of vegetarian dim sum, salads, and many other items on the menu. The service is excellent and so is the wine menu. A visit to San Francisco is not complete without lunch or dinner at Yank Sing at the Rincon Plaza. If you are heading there for lunch, go early at 11 am to get seated immediately. I haven't been there for dinner yet, but I would recommend reserving.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    164
    119
    37
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth a trip for your taste buds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On a week's holiday in SF and we went here twice to the Rincon Center branch - on a Sunday and a weekday. It is clean, service is fast and food is tasty. It doesn't have the chinesy dim sum dishes like chicken feet but apart from that it is v good although a bit on the pricey side. We felt comfortable paying a bit more to know the food was good and place was clean having had some dodgy experiences in other cities in dim sum restaurants where food was not cooked properly! The servers are very attentive, food comes around quickly on the carts and the atmosphere was very good. On both occasions, the place was busy with a big mixture of clientele - business lunches, families out and even solo diners. If you like silken tofu/tau fu fa for dessert - note they only have this on the weekends - super tasty!! I also liked that we could make reservations as some dim sum halls don't let you do this. All I can say is that if you crave dim sum head on over to Yank Sing! Your tastebuds and tummy will thank you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get the soup dumplings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I went to the one at Rincon Center on a weekday. They didn't have what I consider regular dimsum fare, like tripe and chicken feet, but what they did have was done very well. The xiao long bao were particularly tasty! Very spendy though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Dim Sum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've been here multiple times, and loved it each time. If you are looking for Dim Sum in SF, this is your place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my first visit to an "authentic" dim sum place. I've heard and read great things about Yank Sing. The location is in the financial district & the setting/ambiance reflects the location. Most of the patrons were business people there on their lunch break. Once the three of us were seated, the carts started rolling by you suddenly were inundated with food choices which can be a good thing if you enter starving...But once you started eating, somebody was always coming by asking you if you wanted this or that. Before you knew it both your table & stomach were full and you were never quite sure what it is you exactly were eating or what the full option ranges are/were. The stuff we did select was excellent, particularly the broth filled dumplings. I noticed a couple next to us and obviously there were dim sum experts as they knew exactly what to order and they seemed to be in charge of what they wanted. In other words, they knew what's on the rolling buffet table. So my advice for the uninitiated, go in with an eating plan for a more relaxing lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yank Sing - Rincon Center also viewed

 

Been to Yank Sing - Rincon Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yank Sing - Rincon Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.