We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally authentic and really busy with locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R & G Lounge

R & G Lounge
631 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)
(415) 982-7877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #557 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Doylestown
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Totally authentic and really busy with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

All the locals from Chinatown come here for the completely genuine Chinese food at reasonable prices. Shame they are ignorant of the obscenity of shark's fin soup; but you cannot have everything. Great menu for food and drink and service brisk but good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    276
    116
    61
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food was just OK, but rushed atmosphere was bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We felt like we had fallen into a fast food factory. We had made reservations, but no one seemed to be looking at that and it made no difference as we were quickly shuffled into a dining room. Fortunately we were early and got right in, not like waiting crowd we had to push through to exit. Tables were close together and the noise level was loud. Service was almost too prompt. We knew what we wanted and got an order in fast. But the sequence of service was out of whack. Main dishes appeared before appetizers and then everything appeared all at once. The Peking duck came almost instantly. Not bad, but it had little flavor. The crispy skin was good. Moo Shu vegetables were lukewarm, over cooked, and greasy. Salt and pepper scallops were hot and tasty! It seemed that we were there only for minutes before plates were whisked away and we were out the door. There are better places in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The kind of Chinese Restaurant in SF I was looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We did not try their the signature food "salt and pepper crabs" - and decided to go with the crispy roasted duck, the perfect Hot and Sour Soup, and enjoyed the great spring rolls.

I really loved the atmosphere at R & G Lounge, a real Chinese Restaurant with all the noises and buzz of activities without the loud colors. and not a hole in the wall restaurant. We had no reservation and the line outside was very long when we arrived, which always is a good sign.

We will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Not sure if worth a wait but it is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I loved my chicken clay pot dish..which was huge..and a good thing since the price for lunch was high. My boyfriend struck out though the the chicken dish..think it was called princess chicken...not too good. Didn't try the s&p crab dish they are known for and I was told by others is amazing.
I'd say they know how to do their dishes right here and without a wait, it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Go for the food and experience (but bring a crowd)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Attended a group dinner here, and the host had pre-ordered a multi-course dinner which was fabulous. The atmosphere is raucous, and there can be odd delays between the dishes coming out, but the food was uniformly good, with some of it outstanding, and it's a wonderful place to go with a big group of friends to share time, food, and stories.

The stand-out dishes as far as I was concerned were the butterfish, which absolutely melted in your mouth, and the beef, scallops and snap-pea pod dish, with perfectly cooked scallops, succulent seasoned beef, and wonderful crisp pea pods. Just fabulous.

I don't think this would be nearly the same experience on your own, or with just a couple folks, but bring a crowd, settle in, and enjoy a wonderful evening of eating and experiencing it all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R & G Lounge also viewed

 

Been to R & G Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R & G Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.