We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Think I Might Be A Little Biased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piperade

Piperade
1015 Battery St, San Francisco, CA 94111-1220 (The Embarcadero)
415-391-2555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #270 of 4,938 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: French, Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: The Embarcadero
Cross street: b/w Union and Green
Transit: -Muni/Bart Stop nearby -Streetcars -Busline 10
Sparks, Nevada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I Think I Might Be A Little Biased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Being Basque, I really wanted to see what SF offered in the way of Basque cuisine. I was expecting a LOT more, so I think I was more than a little disappointed. This is a French Basque restaurant, and influenced heavily by French cuisine. Ok, I am good with that, but I really wanted a kalimotxo, a traditional Basque drink, and the bartender looked at me like I was nuts. I told her how to make it, and she was happy to oblige, but come on. I just think the staff needs to be a little more schooled in what they are serving.

That being said, the stuffed piquillo peppers were AMAZING as was the tomato tartlet. Delicious. The food was good, the dinner service was snooty, and I wish there were more traditional Basque dishes on the menu.

The menu did state that it was "West Coast Basque" which I think is a nice way of saying that there isn't much Basque stuff on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    47
    39
    16
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Basque food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sophisticated, attentive, but not intrusive wait staff. Calamari in a reduction sauce top of the line! Great rack of lamb and Basque "'bouillabaisse". Such a fine place. Our family from Danville highly recommended this place, and we were so pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My favorite Basque restaurant in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Piperade is my favorite restaurant in San Francisco. It’s always a “must -stop” for me whenever I am in the city. Basque food is considered one of the finest cuisines in the world and this restaurant does it justice. This last trip I went by myself and sat at the bar. I ordered the Piquillo Peppers, stuffed with goat cheese, pistachios and golden raisins as an appetizer. For an entrée, I ordered the Braised Seafood Stew in a red pepper sauce. See pictures, as you can tell, they were both delicious. If you want to experience Basque food, this is one restaurant I would strongly recommend. Like I said, it’s one of my favorites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Perfection...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Such a wonderful meal in a lovely place with excellent service. Cocktails at the bar were fun and 'unique' specialties. The foursome diners shared small plates of calamari, ham, crab, and pepper stuffed with cheese. Each app was delicious but the calamari was STELLAR...we sopped every drop of the yummy sauce with the bread. Main courses of piperade wiith ham and egg, lamb chops and sausage, and seafood stew were all declared excellent and consumed voraciously. My 'entree' was the simply perfect garlic soup, a scrumptious broth with shrimp, garlic, and bits of bread and enriched by a 'scrambled' egg. I could have licked the bowl!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We always wanted to try this restaurant but never did until we found a Travelzoo deal and what a deal it was. The meal was DELICIOUS, the service outstanding, this is definitely a spot we will return to. While a bit pricey it is worth it and we highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piperade also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Piperade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piperade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.