We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nob Hill Cafe

Nob Hill Cafe
1152 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94108-1916 (Nob Hill)
415-776-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Bakery, Italian, Pizza, Californian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Cozy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a favorite of mine and I've been here at least a dozen times when travelling for work. Its small but exactly what you think of when you think of a cozy neighborhood SF restaurant. Try to be seated in the room away from the kitchen. You can't really watch the cooks and it is a bit noisy and drafty by the kitchen, plus the other room is more romantic and you can generally here the Frank Sinatra-style music piped in. I always order one of the specials and last night I had the pounded pork chop with prociutto and mozarrella. It was great as was my coworkers ravioli. They usually have a ravioli on special and they are consistent in quality. Their focacia table bread is delicious! Get a glass of house Chianti and you're set. Prices are around $20 per entree. Service is usually very friendly. And you should try to get there before 6:30 to avoid having to wait, which is not fun because it can often be cool and they have only about six indoor seats for waiting. There are generally a few tables outside for waiting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    131
    40
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everytime I visit San Francisco, I try to have dinner at this cute little cafe. This year, I ate there twice. On the first night with a colleague, we each enjoyed the Chicken special which was very good. We also each enjoyed the Tiramisu. On the second night, I had the lasagne which was good but which could have been a little bigger. I then had the Ganache for dessert which was very rich and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Locals seem to love this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

There are other Italian eateries in the area that are better than Nob Hill. The place is cramped and rushed. The food was only so-so. Skip it if you can.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A definite must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wonderful neighborhood feel and atmosphere. The outdoor seating is always filled on warm evenings -- I can't recommend this place enough. It's romantic, but at the same time great for a family or group of friends to dine and have a few drinks. We've ordered take-out quite a few times, and the food is always absolutely delicious. The open kitchen creates an intimate and cozy feel. Out of 3 or 4 times here, I've seriously never had a bad meal. Nob Hill Cafe is one of the first places I recommend to family and friends when they are in the area. Already am a repeat customer and I will definitely continue to be one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great for single dining. Outdoor or inside seating. Great specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Seafood special with spicy cioppinoo red sauce. Outstanding. Small cafe with great private small tables. Or groups of 4. Great value. Feels like you are in Italy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nob Hill Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nob Hill Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nob Hill Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.