We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleur de Lys - CLOSED

Fleur de Lys
777 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
415-673-7779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between Taylor & Jones
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Grand Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Superior cuisine at a really nice pace with excellent wine pairings. I wonder how it is faring now that the owner has passed away?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    53
    33
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fleur de Lys Maintains its Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After a number of years, we returned to Fleur de Lys for our anniversary last night. The decor and ambiance are as lovely (and quiet for real conversation) as we remembered. The food was as excellent as well. But rather than staid French, the chef has created an innovative French-related menu. Each dish we had on the 3-course prix fixe (4- or 5-courses seemed too much but I'm sure are excellent too) was creative, complex yet balanced, and delicious. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and a bargain to boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a romantic dinner at the end of the year. The setting is elegant, the food inventive, fun, flavorful and satisfying on multiple levels. The service was friendly and attentive. It wasn't an inexpensive meal, but for the quality of the experience, we thought it a bargain.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not Fine Five Star Dining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Running on its former glory, this restaurant has not maintained an edge with the times. We dine in 5 star restaurants wherever we are in the world. Fleur de Lys - has Prix Fixe dining - only which we love -we had the 4 course dinners - Westin St Francis hotel make reservations to accommodate gluten free and assured us. Not even close. No gluten free bread and no gluten free desserts - unless you like a few small thinly shaved pieces of fruit on a plate with no flavor -that was the option to ice cream. Their staff is not trained to maintain contact with the table after service. We had to flag down a waiter to obtain a napkin that one waiter had taken and never returned with a clean one. Rarely saw our own waitress and when we did she was on the fast walk - no eye contact mission.
It was a three hour dinner which it normal for a normal 5 star- but our evening was because we could not receive service.
As we were leaving, the head chef owner was at the door and asked us about our evening. We very nicely told him he needed to update his gluten free options as many have this allergy and also like fine dining. He became defensive and said it was very difficult to do that. I said one option was that he could have bread and desserts brought in with many gluten free bakeries in San Francisco. He needed to adjust with the times. I got the feeling that he would not take my advice, and write us off as the problem. We won't be recommending this restaurant to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pas mal...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our family was visiting San Francisco for Christmas, and our hotel recommended Fleur de Lys. The decor is very interesting. It reminded me more of a Russian restaurant than French. It set an interesting ambiance. There was lots of red and thick fabrics. It was the Christmas Eve prix fix for $110 per. The food was pretty good. It wasn't something to write home about, but it's decent haute cuisine fare. Since most of us had just visited Napa, and could not handle anymore wine, I can't speak of the restaurant's wine selection. The cocktails were sub par. I'm not sure what the bartender put in the dirty martini, but it did not taste like olive juice, and the drink was rather greasy. It tasted buttery. All in all... it was a good experience, and the food was decent. If you're looking for some place pretty with ambiance, it's a good choice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleur de Lys also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleur de Lys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.