We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively room, very good pasta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scala's Bistro

Scala's Bistro
432 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504 (Union Square)
+1 415-395-8555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scala's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #350 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, French, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Union Square
Cross street: Post and Sutter
Transit: Powell St. Cable Car Line, BART get off at Powell Street and walk up 4 blocks, we are on the right hand side next to the Sir Drake Hotel.
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lively room, very good pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had a nice meal with a coworker here the week before Christmas. The restaurant is just off Union Square so it is always bustling with locals and tourists. I visit SF often and usually can't get in here so I was surprised we got a table for two at 6:30. My only other visit was in the bar for dinner. Word of caution, if you don't like loud restaurants you won't like this. The room has a dramatic high ceiling and is beautiful, but the acoustics amplify conversation. It didn't bother us, but if you have hearing issues or hate noise this restaurant is not for you - assuming it is crowded. With a small crowd you're probably fine.
My wild boar pasta was excellent and my coworker liked her pasta also. The table bread is very good. My favorite thing though was the side dish of roasted carrots. They are made with pistachios and preserved lemon. Excellent! We split a boston cream pie dessert, which was very good. It was more like a pudding served in a cup. Delicious. Service was also very attentive with nice people. I'll definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    375
    124
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

A group of us had dinner and it was delicious, the salads were really fresh and so was the pasta. We all liked our meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“luke warm steak and fries on a Saturday night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Two couples ate here on a busy Saturday night. My steak and fries were luke warm so I sent them back, while the other three finished their meals. My wife's captain's stew was very salty and had only two clams and two mussels with some vegies! Our total bill with tip was $410 for four people and two bottles of Duckhorn wine, and dessert. A very crowded and hip place but upon reflection, I wished I had left less of a service tip. Our seating was 8:30 PM, which may have been a factor.

Also, quite noisy making it diffcult to carry on a conversation across the table. Limited to simply yes/no questions, and nods. The bar has very limited seating so expect to stand.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex D, General Manager at Scala's Bistro, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your experience at Scala’s Bistro is pretty rare, but that does not make it right. We are always trying to learn and grow. I hope that you will let us prove this to you on your next visit.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us.

Alex Desquiron

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Amazing service, food, and location. Nothing negative to say. Had a very enjoyable dinner. Also had breakfast there on a couple occasions as was staying at the Drake. Top notch.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Classic Italian with California Twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We love having lunch in this restaurant when we in The City for shopping. Well located near Union Square, the dining room is "old San Francisco" and has a very nice vibe. The menu features beautifully done small pizza, pasta and innovative salads. The wine list has many reasonably priced offerings. The wait staff is friendly and helpful with recommendations. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scala's Bistro also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Scala's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scala's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.