We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in bustling Union Square” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scala's Bistro

Scala's Bistro
432 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1504
+1 415-395-8555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Scala's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #354 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, French, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Post and Sutter
Transit: Powell St. Cable Car Line, BART get off at Powell Street and walk up 4 blocks, we are on the right hand side next to the Sir Drake Hotel.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in bustling Union Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This restaurant is located around the corner from my office, so we frequently eat there. Expert service, a good wine selection, a fresh and contempory menu that includes a lot of pastas and seafoods. The vibe is more San Francisco old style rather than contemporary, with dark panelled wood and booths. It is centrally located in the heart of the shopping and the theater districts of San Francisco, making it ideal for lunches and dinners. They are also open for breakfast.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    336
    113
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had our final meal in SF at this restaurant and it was a great choice! Loved the atmosphere, great service and the food was delicious! I would highly recommend this place to anyone in SF.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanFrancisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best restaurant in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have ate at Scala's numerous times. Great food great service. Perfect ambiance. And the wine selection is amazing. And the hostesses as well are excellent. My advice eat here alot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent Italian but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Bit pricey for what you get. atmosphere is very upscale. Staff a tad snobby. better italian elsewhere (use Trip or yelp to find)

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
2 reviews
“Amazing food and awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My friend and I are just wrapping up our girl trip to San Francisco. We had a wonderful time. On our first night after taking a longer than usual nap we ventured out to find a place to eat. To our surprised most restaurants are closed by nine or ten pm. Someone suggested scala bistro (it opens till 11pm) we were totally taken back by the warm service. Humberto,our waiter, was magnificent. The stuffed ravioli in white cream and the salad were exquisite. The ambience is warm and inviting. We were treated like royalty by our waiter Humberto. We recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting San Francisco. Amazing and well priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scala's Bistro also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Scala's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scala's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.