We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini & Pinetti

Puccini & Pinetti
129 Ellis St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2109
415-392-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Puccini & Pinetti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #505 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cyrill Magnin
Transit: One block from Powell Street Cable Car line, Muni bart, F line and many busses.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Staff, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went in alone one night and was made very welcome. Went there 3 nights on the trot with friends thereafter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks again for coming in, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    204
    74
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great find close to Union Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Puccini & Pinetti - We had originally had a reservation down on the wharf, but decided to find a restaurant in walking distance to hotel. We found this based on positive reviews on Tripadvisor and Open Table. About 5 - 10 min walk from the Hilton Union Square. Great menu - Italian with many price selections, good wine list as well. I would recommend making a reservation, it sounded like it's quite busy based on convention traffic etc. Great food and service and relaxing environment. Would certainly go back - our server was exceptional!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for the feedback! We are happy to rest conveniently by Union Square and glad you were able to enjoy a meal close to your hotel. Please reach out to us the next time you need a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great local flavor and foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just off Union Square, with good atmosphere and a broad menu. A short 20 minute wait on Sunday night, and happy hour prices at the bar too. All service staff were congenial, without being bored by too many tourists. The bartenders let us sample a "Black Manhattan" a new cocktail they were exprimenting with- quite tasty. Dinner was good, and not terribly expensive by SFO standards. They seem to use local ingredients when possible. and we enjoyed the relaxed ambiance. Good for singles, families or businessmen - but it's not quite and intimate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the honest feedback and your comments have been shared with our staff. Next time you are traveling through San Francisco, do not hesitate to stop back in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended to us by a local person so we gave it a go. Lovely atmosphere inside and very helpful and good humoured staff.
Food was really good too - we both had pasta dishes that were excellent.
Place does not come across as a tourist trap. Overall cost was ok.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for the review Mike, and we appreciate knowing we are a good local spot. Don’t forget about us the next time you are in town, we’d love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was in San Francisco for work and stopped in on a whim for dinner since it was located between my hotel and shopping.

I was seated immediately (had made a reservation for 6:30, but that wasn't necessary). Great atmosphere and ambiance. It was a little loud, but not to the extent of being bothersome. Being a single dinner, I was seated near the kitchen/cooking area. Normally I read the news on my phone during dinner, but I found myself spending more time watching the chef's prepare the food. Quite entertaining.

My server (Kirk) was great. Attentive. Quick on his feet. Friendly.

Had the linguine and clams which I found to be very flavorful and a very nice portion... I did not walk away hungry at all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, General Manager at Puccini & Pinetti, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hey Maureen, we’d love to have you sit at our Chef’s counter again! We love when people like yourself get to see all the action. Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini & Pinetti also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Puccini & Pinetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini & Pinetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.