We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic Menu, Great Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaya Brasserie

Chaya Brasserie
132 The Embarcadero, San Francisco, CA 94105-1201
415-777-8688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chaya Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #319 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mission & Howard
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Eclectic Menu, Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a business lunch here with local foodies. Being from New York and all, the menu is a little beyond me, but I can say the service is impeccable and the sushi, delicious. Tuna roll and smoked duck roll are recommended, and try the roasted brussels sprouts appetizer! I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    117
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Great seafood and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had no reservation at Chaya for a Saturday night, but they accommodated our party of 4 in the bar area quite nicely. We ordered off the full dinner menu and the food was outstanding. Pan fried King Salmon was mouth-watering and so were the sauteed trumpet mushrooms. Our waitress was delightful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you come here of the main eating times you can get great sushi deals while eating at the bar. They also have a great array of bears on tab. The view onto the bay bridge are breathtaking. Check it out for one or two drinks with your loved one. #impressive

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Returned twice in one week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stumbled upon the Chaya restaurant heavily jet-lagged early on a Friday night and it was jammed packed full of young professionals relaxing after a long week. We sat in the bar and had wonderful cocktails during their happy hour. Although we booked a table in the restaurant we ate at the bar which turned out to not only be totally relaxing and easy but incredibly tasty, well presented and excellent. We had squid, wonderful sushi and a few other lovely tasting dishes. We enjoyed it so much we couldn't wait to take our work colleagues who were also highly impressed. I'd definitely recommend this place either to chill out, drink great cocktails and relax eating wonderful food at the bar or in the more up market sophisticated restaurant which will suit you depending on your mood and company.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I could not have asked for anything more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I practically picked this restaurant "out of a hat" for a birthday dinner. They were so nice and courteous, sat us in the front window to see the Bay Bridge lights and the food was absolutely perfect. It is one of those "worth every penny" restaurants, and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaya Brasserie also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Chaya Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaya Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.