We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food; Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tadich Grill

Tadich Grill
240 California St, San Francisco, CA 94111-4361
415-391-1849
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ripon, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food; Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went into Tadich Grill over the Fourth of July weekend and were able to be seated immediately at the counter. Unless you really want to wait for a table, the counter is a great alternative. Our server was very informative and helped us with our decision making. The clam chowder was some of the best we have ever had. The person next to us ordered oysters and said they were excellent. The portions of all the food is large and the seafood is fresh. The cioppino is always one of our favorites too. The crowd waiting to be seated is part of the fun of the Tadich Grill. We always meet someone while having a drink until our name is called. The waiters are always excellent, the seafood is fresh, and the wait is part of the experience. Tadich Grill is always a restaurant we visit whenever we go to San Francisco, and we have never been disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    241
    83
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went here for lunch with very high expectations. I had seen it on food network many times. The sea food was good but not excellent. Very over priced for what it was. It was fresh and tasty. I have had better seafood so would save your money and go anywhere else that serves seafood. Very old school and classic décor. We got right In within minutes for lunch on a Saturday as they were not very busy. The wait staff was older and not very friendly. They wanted us to order cocktails but we had kids with us and really wasn't what we wanted to do for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Chaotic Seating but Great Food and Sevice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

When you arrive you are asked for your name which you assume you will get asked to come to a table in order but there appears to also be a way of getting a seat at the bar which is based on who jumps into the seat first. Unconventional but we got a seat.

Our server was charismatic and knew the menu well. I had a crab cocktail to start and that and the prawn cocktail my colleague had was sizeable and tasty.

Mains were equally sizeable and very good. I really like it at Tadich somewhat due to the quirky setup but also the great food. I recommend it for a good night out in SF.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Came here for dinner on the recommendation of one of the cable car drivers; the locals know best! We were not disappointed; the food was delicious along with a buzzing friendly atmosphere. A fantastic place to visit when on holiday in SF; would certainly try and eat there again if ever visiting SF in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Historic and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of the oldest restaurants in SF. Charming atmosphere. The food was a bit high priced but was very yummy. We enjoyed our dinner. Go for food but do expect to pay a bit more ($10) per person for the historic factor. The bibs they placed on us were very funny and made for a great photo.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tadich Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tadich Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tadich Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.