We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated and terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hall

Town Hall
342 Howard St, San Francisco, CA 94105 (SoMa)
(415) 908-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Town Hall is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #404 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Fremont St.
Transit: Muni & BART: Embarcadero station; Muni: 1 California @ Howard, 14 Mission @ Fremont
Seattle
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Over-rated and terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had high hopes for this restaurant with all the rave reviews on tripadvisor and also from fellow colleagues. If you're going to go, make sure you get reservations in advance, or you may be looking at a 2 hour wait.

We were seated near the entrance of the restaurant under a tent like structure with heating lamps outside. The chairs were akin to something at an outdoor bbq. Our waiter finally comes over and we were ready to order an appetizer but hadn't decided on drinks. "well I'm not going to put in items out of order, so I'll come back when you're ready to order drinks." Really? You can't be bothered to bring hungry people an appetizer? We ordered the buttermilk biscuits, la quercia speck & red pepper jelly starter along with the roasted veal meatballs with potato puree. The biscuits were quite tasty, but you only get three and they are very tiny! The speck (basically ham), was a little fatty for my taste, but my companions liked it. If you like meatballs, I'm sure you will enjoy the veal. I found them to be a little soggy.

For my main dish, I ordered the local halibut, farro & baby zucchini dish. I requested a substitution for the farro for potatoes and after a very snotty look by the waiter, said "I'll try." Bizarre. When I got my dish, of course no potatoes, only farro. Which is not tasty by the way. Way too chewy and flavorless. I was told the chef "didn't have time" to make the substitution. For such a "nice" restaurant, you would think they would be more accommodating.

The halibut was prepared nicely and the highlight of the evening. The remainder of the food and the service was severely lacking. I will not be going back to this establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    97
    45
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great spot in the Financial District.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Town Hall is a fun restaurant located on the edge of the Financial District in SF, on the corner of Howard and Fremont. It's located in a charming historic brick building, with high ceilings and lots of light through the big windows. Very busy for lunch, and subsequently quite noisy, but the service was attentive, and the food came out from the kitchen almost amazingly fast. I'm always on the search for the perfect burger, and Town Hall's comes very close--tender, hand-formed patty, soft brioche bun, good cheddar, excellent butter lettuce, and a big slice of heirloom tomato, plus red onions and house-made pickles, if you want them. And the accompanying fries are superb. My husband's pulled pork sandwich was tasty, though a bit more chunky than shredded, and came with an interesting bacon and macaroni salad. The table bread was an unusual whole grain sourdough, and very fresh. Good wine list. With the quick service at lunch, you can easily get in and out in an hour or less. A great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I ate at town hall for a business lunch with some partners on a recent trip to San Francisco. Food and service were great. The skirt steak and corn bread were both delicious.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New Orleans in San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed this place, a little New Orleans style in San Francisco. try the Tuna Tartare it had just the right amount of heat, just wonderful. Also if you like BBQ Ribs with a little heat, you have to be willing to get your fingers a little messy but well worth it, the service was fabulous even gave us hot towels to clean up after eating the ribs, perfect!
The the deserts were over the top, try the butterscott pudding, it's not your run of the mill pudding, chocolate on the bottom with small pieces of chocolate brittle in the butterscott a great combo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food. Good service. Worth considering.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a dinner with 2 adults to catch up. The selection of food was good, with a variety that would cater to most tastes. The service was good, with a waiter who was attentive and courteous. Wine selection was also good. It is a large restaurant and when we were there on a Wednesday night it was quite busy. Probably good for friends and groups, but probably not so for a couple - at least on the night we were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Town Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.