We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
200 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94111 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
(415) 981-0983
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokkari Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Front St.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Eveything we had was unbelievably great. There was such attention to detail. And, extremely timely also. I can't wait to go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    279
    63
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great choice anytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The food is great. Definitely try some of the appetizers. They are excellent. The service is good. Nice atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious roast lamb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Without a reservation for dinner, my spouse and I had dinner at the lounge. A very high end and busy restaurant. The zucchini cakes were delicious and the lamb shank was tender and tasty.
The bartender was most friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Aaaah-mazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Kokkari is one of my fav restaurants in SF. The ambiance is great, the service is always top notch, they have a great wine selection, and their food is the best. I have had many items on the menu, but some of my favorites are the octapodaki (octupus), kalamari (not your usual fried stuff, but grilled and stuffed with feta and flavored with orange), and for a hearty entree, the lamb shank. If you go when it's chilly, request a table by the wood oven. Very romantic even if the ambiance is a bit energetic.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reminiscence of time back in Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Last second trip to San Francisco and landed a last second reservation at this restaurant. The fragrance from the rotossiere was immediately evident as soon as you entered. We were an hour early and the bar was packed but due to our small party size, they were able to seat us almost immediately, a very pleasant surprise. Every aspect was wonderful except when the waiter made a mistake on our appetizers, he apologized (no big deal). He gave them to us and stated the item we ordered was on its way. However, his assistant had another idea. He came over and took the appetizer away even though he had been standing next to the table and heard everything. Our waiter was apologetic and was very gracious. He made excellent suggestions on a bottle of wine and the dinner was superb. One rude individual did not ruin the evening but I hope they advise him to be courteous with the clients.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokkari Estiatorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.