We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“world-class Greek restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
200 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)
(415) 981-0983
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokkari Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Front St.
Huntington Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“world-class Greek restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Okay, I will confess...I haven't actually had a meal here YET. A patient of mine came in today. She is a beautiful Greek actress and knows her Mediterranean food. Her family actually owns a restaurant here in Southern California. She had just returned from a trip to San Fran and GUSHED about this restaurant, so I really felt I just had to share! Her exact words, "this is probably the best Greek restaurant in the WORLD!" And believe me, she has been around the world to some fine restaurants! I love going to SFO and had not heard of Kokkari, but, believe me, the next trip will include a visit and much anticipated meal at Kokkari!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    251
    58
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wi, Usa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to get in but worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My second attempt to dine at this restaurant. I had to make reservation 6 days in advance for a party of 1 :-( I saw somewhere that if you are very sweet and nice to the hostess, she can usually get you a seat by the bar with full menu. Anyway, I ordered the Kalamari appetizer and it was delicious. The squid were stuffed with feta cheese so the sauce oozed out as you cut into the squid. Some may not like that but trust me, it is delicious but watch out, lots of splattering :-)

For the main entree, I ordered the rotisserie lamb. It wasn't on the menu and they had 3 servings left so I took 1. First time trying rotisserie lamb. I usually go for lamb chops or rack of lamb or lamb shank. This is unique. Waiter said "think of it like campfire" lamb. Never had that either but it was good. The meat was charred on the outside and the inside was still tender. Served with potatoes.

Why not 5 stars? The bread was quite pathetic. I would have preferred some pita bread with home mad hummus to start the meal. What they serve is very common - bread with a plate of olive oil.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine, Odessa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You will love the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I've read reviews before and was expecting it to be good but not THAT GOOD! Make sure you'll reserve a table in advance, chances are you won't be able to find a free one to sit if you just walk in.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently Excelent Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been coming here for 10 years and have never been disappointed . The lamb is the best thing on the menu (although I may be biased as an Armenian) . Never a disappointment and always on Michael Bauers top 100 list in San Francisco

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“First class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Kokkari is a first class restaurant. We have eaten there several times and each time found the service was most efficient, the food was very good. The menu is quite extensive. This visit, I found the fired smelt was perfect. This is a dish I have had in Spain and Kokkari does it even better than in Madrid!

Yes, this is a high energy restaurant. Not a place for intimate dinner talk. You can do this this at the the Top of the Mark!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokkari Estiatorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.