We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
200 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94111 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
(415) 981-0983
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokkari Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Front St.
MIDLAND
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“First class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Kokkari is a first class restaurant. We have eaten there several times and each time found the service was most efficient, the food was very good. The menu is quite extensive. This visit, I found the fired smelt was perfect. This is a dish I have had in Spain and Kokkari does it even better than in Madrid!

Yes, this is a high energy restaurant. Not a place for intimate dinner talk. You can do this this at the the Top of the Mark!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    278
    63
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kokkari is Big, Greek and Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good food, competent service, good wine selection. But, if you are looking for intimate dining, this is not the place. It is big, noisy and an afterwork spot for financial district thrity-somethings who line the bar three-deep. It is a well run machine, but it is a machine. Food seems a bit secondary to all the visuals and the process.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham AL
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Upscale Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a very attractive restaurant with very good food. After working out a little glitch with our server( I think he thought we were invisible) we had a lovely evening celebrating son`s birthday. The appetizers were good. My favorite was the melitzanosalata {eggplant) w/ homemade pita. All of the diners had different entrees, steak, fish, lamb & chicken. All dishes were flavorful. No room for dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Better than you know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss it if you are in San Fran. Everything is great. A little noisy for an intimate date, but the food and service will make up for it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A mediterranean gem in SFO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to Kokkari for a late lunch. The ambiance is fantastic. You feel as if you've stepped off an SFO street corner and into a old Greek lodge. There are even pigs roasting on spit over a fire in the main dining area.

Our meal began with copious amounts of delicious, fresh bread and olive oil. We had grilled octopus, calamari and zucchini cakes as appetizers. The zuccini cakes came two to an order, but i couldve eaten about 10! I had never had grilled octopus, and it was tender and delicious. Not at all what i had expected. Frankly, the appetizers were so good, and there were so many others that looked delicious, it would be easy to have all appetizers for lunch. Many of the traditional Greek specialties were offered in appetizer size and I'm sure would have been delicious!

Two of us had lamb kabobs and found them delicious and cooked to perfection. There were several grilled whole fish options and I had the branzino, which they graciously filleted and served headless for me!! It was very good, but unremarkable. Very simple and lightly seasoned and not served with any side dishes. My complaint about the branzino is two fold: it was much too large for a lunch portion and it was $35. We weren't given the prices of the daily fish options but this was significantly more than other menu options. The two women who ordered the branzino could easily have split one entree, but the waitress never suggested it. This is why I only gave it 3 stars for value.

I was trying to eat "light" but wish I'd have gone for the moussaka that was calling my name! I'm sure it would've been fabulous.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokkari Estiatorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.