We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
200 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)
(415) 981-0983
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokkari Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Front St.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food & Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had a wonderful waiter, Roberto who made perfect suggestions for our meals. The food was delicious and the restaurant had a wonderful atmosphere. We look forward to returning on our next visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    251
    58
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

6 of us went to Kokkari for dinner while in town. The atmosphere, food, and especially the wait staff was wonderful. They were very attentive, funny, and eager to accommodate our every wish.
They even brought out complimentary desserts for our 65th birthdays. The baklava was fantastic!! The manager, waiter, and everyone there made our evening unforgetable. Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great SFO Greek Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The grilled octopus was some of the best I have eaten. Next I had the New Zealand lamb chops with grilled potatoes, 3 huge chops cooked to perfection. The service was great and there was light Greek music playing in the background. Definitely a repeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“No axe to grind, but just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I read all of the reviews. And they rate this place uniformly, "off the chart." I was with a large group and maybe we all ordered the 8 most average entrees on the menu. I will say service was attentive, crisp and professional with a capital "p." The appetizers were very good. Sardines, lamb riblets, smelt (they deep fry these little suckers up); all were all very good. Flat bread too thick and straight out of the package from Safeway, or so it seemed. My lamb rib entre was 45% fat and 55% meat. Pork from the rotisserie slightly better at 35% fat, 65%. Maybe I just dont get it, but the fat to meat ratio made me sad. Flavor was good, but every bite required micro-surgery to avoid huge amounts of white fat. The table ordered the whole fish, and the reviews were just ok. At the menu price point, I think reviews need to better than just "ok." And the noise level? High, very high. I love a restaurant that buzzes with noise, but when it is so loud that you can only talk to the table companion sitting directly next to you. And your friends across the table are moving their mouths, but you hear nothing coming out? I think it's time for the restaurant to do a little acoustical study. Maybe we ordered the wrong entrees, maybe we sat at the wrong table. People obviously love this reastaurant. It is just not for us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The wait staff is amazing! My mom is afraid of elevators, so the waiter (Francis) went far beyond awesome; he escorted her in the elevator, waited outside the ladies room and escorted her back to our table.

The food was so..... good. Francis recommended absolutely delicious choices: fantastic zuccinni cakes, eggplant and artichoke skewers, baked beans (giagantus), the best halibut Mom has ever ever eaten, and goat stew with artichokes and orzo pasta which was out of this world!

For the price range the portions were very ample, appetizers and entres alike.

Next time in San Francisco we have to go back and bring our freinds and family with us! It's a must do!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokkari Estiatorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.