We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mediterranean Food in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokkari Estiatorio

Kokkari Estiatorio
200 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94111 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
(415) 981-0983
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kokkari Estiatorio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Cross street: Front St.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Mediterranean Food in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Kokkai is the sister restaurant to Evvia, Palo Alto's top rated restaurant. Food is just as good, although menu is different.
Either restaurant is a feast for the eyes and the palate.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    278
    63
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Greek food in Bay Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Granted there are not a lot of Greek restaurants in the Bay Area compared to French, Italian Thai,Japanese etc., but Kokkari holds its own among any "Mediterranean" style restaurant.
Great "vibe", excellent food and superb cocktails. Only problem it is SO popular that reservations are often difficult to obtain.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“OMG - out of this world food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were visiting SFO and were looking for a place to meet up with some local friends. I decided to go here and booked. The only available option was a 5:30 pm, quiet early for our European standards, but I insisted and convinced my husband to give it a try... what to say? Everything was outstanding, the location, lights, music, service, food: EXCELLENT PLACE, most of our local friends didn't know it (a few did, though) and were very impressed. Now i can't wait to go back to SFO and visit it again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, even better services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great Greek wine was recommended to have with the branzino, wonderful preparation. The greek yougurt and beet salad was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Kokkari was excellent. The restaurant was beautiful - lot of character. Everything we had was great. The lamb souvlaki was delicious and the sundae was heavenly. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is because our server was obviously not very excited about her job and was not overly friendly or helpful. But the food was great, and I would go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kokkari Estiatorio also viewed

 

Been to Kokkari Estiatorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokkari Estiatorio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.