We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tommaso's Restaurant

Tommaso's Restaurant
1042 Kearny St, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Financial District)
(415) 398-9696
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Financial District
Los Gatos, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Atmosphere - service and pizza. I have wanted to take my kids here for some time and last time it was closed for renovations. Glad we were able to experience the great wood fired pizza and tomato/mozzarella salad. Wonderful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    120
    60
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pizza, pizza, pizza...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

They claim it to be the first wood-fired brick pizza oven on the West Coast, and I'm certainly not going to deny them that distinction. The crucial part is that they sure know how to make pizza and cook it to perfection in that 70 year-old oven.

After a YELP check for nearby restaurants and a resounding recommendation from the bellman, our group of six headed for Tommaso's. They don't take reservations, so we got there early which was good. Tommaso's is not big and it filled up fast after we arrived. We all ordered pizza of several different types, and shared around.This is excellent pizza, some of the best I've ever had! Thin crust and great flavors abound. All fresh ingredients.

A busy, but efficient wait staff makes this seem like a family place, or at least like you've been going there for a long time. We only tried the pizza, but everything we saw coming out of the small kitchen looked and smelled great. There was pizza left over and it tasted just as good the next day for lunch.

Moderately priced and terrific value for the quality of food and service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome marinara sauce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I must say that this was one of the better meals I have had on a Italian restaurant. The pasta was perfectly cooked and marinara sauce was awesome!

The only few thing I have complaints about was that your arrived so quick that it almost felt that they wanted to get rid of you... and the place was very noisy. Very noisy! But the food makes it worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“My favorite meal in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

There are SO many restaurants in this city...and it seems as though a new one is popping up every week and causing a buzz. However, there aren't that many that stand the test of time. Tommaso's has stood the test of time. It is one of the best restaurants in San Francisco - and certainly the best Italian restaurant in the City. You have to just prepare to wait in the line a bit...don't look over the menu if you're too hungry...just take in the smells of the great food and the sounds of the happy diners and know that your turn is coming up. I highly recommend the Manicotti with meatballs and/or the fresh spinach pizza with garlic. The staff is amazing and it's like going to your Italian grandma's kitchen to eat! Mangia!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Used YELP to find Italian close by. Little did I know we were entering a SF institution! Waitstaff was terrific. And the food! Still thinking about it. House salad, scampi w/ asparagus appetizer, lasagna and spinach pizza. All PERFECT!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommaso's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tommaso's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommaso's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.