We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House

The House
1230 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
(415) 986-8612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 4,568 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Noodle, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I got the grilled sea bass and I'm usually not a fish person but it was amazing! Also throughout the whole meal the staff was extremely helpful asking us how our food was and refilling our waters. I could tell this was a local favorite and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    120
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a wonderful meal here with my son and mother while we were visiting San Francisco for Fleet Week. We had reservations and were sat right on time even though the place was very crowded. All courses were delicious and even my mother who is extremely picky about different cuisine really enjoyed her meal. Service was good - definitely not anything special. Since it is a very small place I got the feeling they rush you just a little. But don't let the service scare you it is definitely worth going and getting a very good unusual meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Agree with the other reviewers favorites. Salmon roll is the best. Service a little confused. Good location in North Beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unexpected Asian fusion in North Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

In a neighbourhood full of great Italian restaurants, this place is a bit of an anomaly. They serve up some great and unusual dishes. We shared a mussel appetizer which was fabulous. The broth was so good I was wishing for a loaf of bread to soak it up with. We then shared the sea bass which was literally the best piece of fish I've ever eaten and the flatiron steak over wasabi noodles. Each bite was an adventure and the service was impeccable.
Caution-don't bother trying to get a table without a reservation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Noodles, Sumptious Pork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My "Foodie" son suggested we try out "The House" based upon the rave reviews. Well, the public was right on target with this restaurant. Everything from the sweet pickles to the wasabi noodles with chicken, to the grilled pork chop and sake, was absolutely delicious. The waitress was helpful and the service was quick. The cliental was a mixture of locals and food crazed tourists.

My negative criticism has to do with the restaurant's physical space. It was small, crowded, and we were seated at the worst possible table: adjacent to the bathroom and directly across the tiny isle to the kitchen. Our area was dimly lit and very noisy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.