We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great SF Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The House

The House
1230 Grant Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Telegraph Hill)
(415) 986-8612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Telegraph Hill
Livermore, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great SF Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We went to The House a while ago but the experience was great. TINY restaurant but which lends to it's cool SF feel. Sat at that little table right at the window which was a great spot to people watch while we waited for our food. Overall great service, really interesting choice of dishes in a cozy environment. We rolled out of there..:)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    107
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very, Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went to the House for a business dinner back in March. We went based on the recommendation of a coworker who goes to the city quite frequently. She told us the food was really good and then a friend who's sister lives in SF supported that statement.

They weren't kidding!

The food was really really good. It's Asian Fusion (meaning it's American with an Asian twist.)And the price was reasonable IMO for food that good as well.

The place is a little small so make reservations because it maybe seats 40 people at most.

I'm normally a steak guy but do like seafood and they had a special Yellow Tail over rice in a spicy sauce so I tried that. It was really, really good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food, service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

On our visit to The House the food was really good. It is asian fusion, sort of chinese style, I guess. The ambience is fine and the buzz is constant. Although modern, it certainly isnt chic, but perfectly functional. Food arrived very speedily and generally the meal was a success. Unfortunately, the service was a bit surly and although efficient, it wasn't overly friendly during the meal. That was compounded when I made the error of not having my glasses on and misreading Tax for Tip on the bill. The absence of a gratuity on the credit card (which was just a misread on my part) was greeted by a very embarrassing lecture from the head waitress to our table. She then got my views on how to handle this type of thing. I know that waiting staff often get paid by tips, so I always tip, On the other hand,all over the world, it seems we can often be charged twice for service on the bill, which is a rip-off. Anyway, I doubt they'll change their approach at The House much, which is a pity, because the food and ambience are worth it and deserve a better approach when it comes to customer service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the vest meals had on a six month trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Whilst recommending The House to a friend who is visiting SF next week, I thought I should write the review from when we had dinner there in November 2011. The House can only be describe as a wonderful culinary adventure fusing ingridients and making fantastic meals that one remembers, if your going with younger kids (6 and 4) I would recommend eating early and booking the table near the window.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A great little restaurant in North Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Meeting friends based in San Francisco for dinner in The House was a great choice. It is a small intimate happeniing restaurant serving delicious Asian American food. Competent staff, who were not intrusive and we didnt feel hurried at any time.The four of us had the Pork Chop with the pomegranate sauce served on a bed of mashed potatoes on recommendation from our friends and it was amazing! Cant remember what we had for starters as we were talking so much but it was all divine! We didnt manage dessert though they sounded super! We will definitely be back next time we are in San Francisco.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.