We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food... Go Now!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Home's Restaurant

Hunan Home's Restaurant
622 Jackson St, San Francisco, CA 94133-5007 (Chinatown)
415-982-2844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chilean, Chinese, Hunan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Maryland, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food... Go Now!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Clean restaurant and bathrooms. Quick and courteous service. Prices are appropriate for quality of food. We enjoyed Kung Pao Vegetables and Sweet and Sour Chicken. Both came with tasty Hot and Sour Soup, fresh oranges, and fortune cookie. Our appetizer egg rolls were too greasy and did not have a remarkable taste. Service was pleasant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    218
    78
    28
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KC, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My party of six didn't find anything stupendous about this restaurant. It was just another Chinese restaurant. We were seated quickly despite being busy lunch hour, and given both the full and lunch menu. It took awhile for a server to acknowledge us, but we needed that much time to sort through what we wanted. While our server answered questions and helped us with the right level of heat, he wasn't overly friendly - in fact, no one in the restaurant was.

We ordered all of our meals from the lunch menu which included hot and sour soup (good, thick, loaded with stuff), steamed rice, orange slices and fortune cookies. We started with pot stickers which were above average (but better ones can be found at Eric's Restaurant). Our individual meals were all suitable - chicken curry (don't confuse this with Thai style yellow curry with coconut milk), orange peel chicken (some pieces overcooked, but wonderful flavor otherwise), sweet and sour chicken, Mongolian chicken (more scallions than chicken), beef and green beans, and Hunan chicken. The tea was fairly bland. You need to ask for water.

Our meals came out separately, so some of us had to wait for the others to be served. Nevertheless, the meals remained temperature hot. Condiments included soy sauce, hot sauce and vinegar.

It appears locals eat here, so that's a good sign. I would be more apt to try a different restaurant rather than return a second time. Happy eating!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“craving another visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Loved this little gem in China Town!!! Totally relaxed casual environment and menu priced to match. The kids and I craved more as soon as we left :) Orange chicken was delish!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good Chinese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ate a mid day meal there on a Sunday, there is no lunch menu on Sundays. We ordered chicken with green beans which was good, chicken with asparagus which was also good, and chicken chow me in which was excellent! Rice is ala carte and delicious, not sticky. We enjoyed egg rolls as well. Excellent service! Clean restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The way chinese food should taste, service was also good, hunan specialty dishs definitely have alot of spice to them, be warned

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Home's Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Hunan Home's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Home's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.