We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true tuscany italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria

Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria
337 3rd St, San Francisco, CA 94107 (SoMa)
(415) 512-1693
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 4,546 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Cafe, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: SoMa
davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“true tuscany italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

this place was recommended by our hotel concierge. we got there somewhat early for dinner and the line was outside the door. the restaurant is small. there is no privacy inside as there is a small dining area. it was a bit chilly but we asked for one of the three outside tables so we could be seated right away. we each ordered pasta and a glass of house chianti. my dish was to include asparagus, which they were out of but they gladly substituted broccoli. my husband's dish was to include anchovies but he just got a hint of them. other than those disappointments we enjoyed every minute of dinner. service was good -a bit on the slow side but understandable due to the crowd. bread and olive oil is provided right away. a line of diners was still waiting when we got our bill. we'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    49
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

While staying in the Financial District we were lucky enough to stumble upon Pazzia Caffe for dinner. The atmosphere was cozy with a nice wine list, very friendly service and great Italian food. My husband and I split a salad, pizza and the lasagna. They were nice enough to individually plate the pasta and salad. Lasagna was creamy and noodles al dente. Perfect! I highly recommend this place. Price was right too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but mighty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant in the SOMO district is a hidden treasure. A small one-room restaurant that delivers fabulous food and great service. Don't be out off by the locale on a busy street. This is the best food ad a value too. Fun wine list, great owner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely meal here on our final night in SF. Great food and nice atmosphere. Slightly out of the city centre but only 12 dollars in a cab from union sq. Our server was Italian and chatty, and on the whole he was very good except for the fact that I had to ask for the bill 3 times before it arrived! The food was delicious and I'd recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

NOt rar from Moscone lies a lovely Florentine restaurant. I go there every year when in town for a conference and they never disappoint.. The Gnocchi melts in your mouth. I don't think I have everhad a disappointing bite here. Massimo, the owner is a character and always around for a laugh ( or a shot of Limoncello) . While they often are late seating folks (at least later than reservation time) the stmosphere and service more than make up for the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazzia Caffe and Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.