We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's on Washington Square

Mama's on Washington Square
1701 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-2914 (North Beach)
+1 415-362-6421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: North Beach
tring
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Awesome breakfast...well worth the wait! the line moves at a good pace, possibly becuase the people in line are giving the people inside that are eating breakfast daggers to hurry up and eat! Food was served very quick and the staff were lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    252
    108
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the long wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This quaint cafe on Washington Square opens at 8am every day except Mondays. We arrived dead on 8am on a Thursday late July as we heard that queues were big at the weekends. However we were surprised to see a very long queue before opening on a weekday. We ended up waiting for 1 hour 15 mins before entering the cafe but the wait is definitely worth it- amazing food and a family 'mama and pop' store atmosphere.
I chose the buttermilk pancakes with strawberries on top which were so light and fluffy. Much better than other breakfast cafes.
The waiters and waitresses were really friendly and instinctively knew when to top up coffee and tea :)
I would recommend this to anyone who visits San Francisco but would suggest getting there at about 7.30am if you don't want to wait for a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WORTH the WAIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was a long NINETY (90) MINUTE WAIT IN THE LINE before we could actually get a seat in this place! but we enjoyed every bit of the food and the wait. Ofcourse, the fact that we had friends with us all the time did contribute to make the experience even better, but that is not taking anything away from this place!! A MUST VISIT on your next SF trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“amazing food ...worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We queued for approximately 1hr 45 mins to have breakfast in Mamas, but it was worth the wait!
Without a doubt it was the best breakfast ever. we had a selection of pancakes and omlettes cooked to perfection.
The staff were very friendly and always took time with you despite the fact that they were so busy. If you are in San Francisco you must have breakfast at least one at Mama's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the queue tip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Arrived outside at 1pm on a thursday - sat down at 2.45pm... eating by 3.15pm.

The doors are meant to close at 3pm - however we saw people turn up at 2.55pm and were let in straight away. Still had a short wait inside restaurant but nothing like the wait we had.

Food is good - the french toast with orange juice, cranberries and walnut with extra berries is to die for - I recommend smothering in their homemade raspberry jam (not sweet and actually cuts through the sweetness of the french toast)... however not sure it really deserves the 1.45min wait to be honest... massive portions too so go hungry (but not so hungry you can't stand the queve ;) )

If you've got time - give it a go...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's on Washington Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.