We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wait is brutal, but try it anyway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's on Washington Square

Mama's on Washington Square
1701 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-2914 (North Beach)
415-362-6421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 4,929 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: North Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The wait is brutal, but try it anyway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This little spot has 2 and 3 hour waits for breakfast/brunch on the weekends. We were in line before they opened and it took 1 1/2 to get in. The food is really great and the staff is fun. If you can handle the line/wait, go and give it a try.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    535
    215
    93
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redding
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, But Be Prepared For A Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have eaten here three times now. The food is always excellent, but I wouldn't try this place on the weekend because there is even a wait during the week. Hopefully a table will become available by the time you stand in line to order and it is prepared. It is easier to get seated quickly for a party of two. We had "California" egg-white omelets this time, and they were FANTASTIC!!! My mouth is actually watering right now just thinking about this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast, but be prepared to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We knew going in that there was going to be a wait, so we went to Mama's on a weekday before it opened. we still had a 20 minute wait, but it wasn't too bad. The food was wonderful (great eggs benedict and French toast). I was, however, unimpressed by the Bloody Mary (far too much Old Bay seasoning). We'd recommend this restaurant for the experience, alone. It will certainly fortify you for a long day of walking around SF. On a side note, the restaurant is small, so it's not really set up to handle large groups.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal to wait 2 hours for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Got to Mama's about 9:00 and joined a line of about 50 people. The restaurant is tiny, seating about 40-50, and we considered abandoning the line. So glad we stuck it out, even though it took us 2 hours to get to the front door. The cranberry orange French toast was to die for, and don't miss adding a spoonful of the raspberry jam on every table to your toast. Just one example of what happens to restaurants that have been "discovered" by TV. Even though they were swamped, the staff was extremely polite and accommodating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“on TV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hi,
You likely know this, but I was just watching(up here in Canada) a episode of "The Streets of San Francisco" called 'A Collection of Eagles' and Micheal Douglas and Carl Malden come out of your shop! It is from 1973, from Season One.
Next time I visit your city I will have to come in for a pastry!
I have been to Washington Square a few times but somehow missed this opportunity, darn.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's on Washington Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.