We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My oh my” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's on Washington Square

Mama's on Washington Square
1701 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-2914 (North Beach)
+1 415-362-6421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: North Beach
Scotland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My oh my”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Well worth the 1 hour wait. This small restaurant is so good. Food was fantastic and could hardly move after it. Would thoughly recommend the Washington Omelette and the Kugelhopf. Delish ..... Staff were so good and coffee tops ups kept flowing. Standing in the queue outside watching the Tai Chi was good and sun was shining so very pleasant. Would recommend this place in a flash.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    252
    108
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Mama's lived up to its reputation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I turned up at Mama's around 10am and saw the long queue round the side of Mama's. We joined the queue and 1.5 hours later, we were shown to our seats. I ordered the Californian omelette, which had bacon, avocado and jack cheese and my husband ordered the Washington omelette - can't remember what's in it, think I tasted spicy italian sausage but it was delicious! We also shared a cranberry and orange french toast - I am salivating just thinking about that breakfast! We both loved everything and we went straight into a food coma afterwards but it was all worth it! The long wait and the food coma! Highly recommend that you try out Mama's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Go-To place for Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is THE place for breakfast in North Beach. Get there early though. We were there at 8:05 on a weekday & had a 5 min wait. There was a long line within moments. The staff is busy but friendly. We spoke to the owner/chef while waiting to order & his recommendations were right on. Try the homemade jam on anything. Scrumptious.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Springs, Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the hour wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were warned if you get there after 8:30 am you will wait at least 1 hr. and we did. So delicious and worth it. Very nice staff, fun atmosphere and delicious food. I had the sampler french toast with fresh fruit. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth the wait for me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Saturday, (crazy!) It was a beautiful spring morning, waiting in line! One of us waited while the other 2 people went to get focaccia from liguria's bakery across the street...food was fantastic, staff was nice and quick!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's on Washington Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.