We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit but be prepared to queue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's on Washington Square

Mama's on Washington Square
1701 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-2914 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)
+1 415-362-6421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Description: Established in 1951. The family of Mama and Papa Sanchez, serves up traditional and innovative breakfast dishes in "Little Italy", the famous North Beach District in San Francisco. Across the street from the beautiful Washington Square Park, Mama's legions of fans line up early and throughout the day. We use the freshest of local products, imported Italian meats to fill our fluffy omelettes, homemade jam, fresh baked breads, pastries and other delectable dishes. We invite you to try our little restaurant and become part of the Mama's Family.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth a visit but be prepared to queue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We got there around 9:30 and we had to wait in line for around 30-40mins.
It was worth the wait though, the pancakes witg seasonal berries was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    267
    110
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Went to eat at Mama's as part of my trip to San Francisco and boy were we not disappointed. We arrived around 9:30 and already there was a queue which took around 30 minutes but it was worth it. Excellent food, good portion sizes and friendly staff made this a great dining experience. The queue is full of locals and once you see and taste the food its easy to see why. I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say potentially the best breakfast I've ever had whilst eating out...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Be prepared for a long queue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

http://thechosenglutton.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/mamas-san-francisco-ca-usa/

Search for a famous breakfast place in San Francisco and you get Mama’s on Washington Square. It started off as a family restaurant some half a century ago, and it’s no wonder they’ve come so far, succeeding on food blogs and travel advisor alike. They serve lunch, but early morning breakfast here is way more popular. We arrived at 8am, and damn the queue was already forming faster than any other tourist attractions around. When we were there, there was already about 8 groups even earlier and more hardworking for breakfast than us. It’s that famous, on a Tuesday morning even.

Service is counter-based. Upon entering the cafe, we were made to queue again for the food order. You order, take a seat, and wait for the food to be served – that exact sequence. But that’s fine, it’s neater that way. Once there, you’d realized they have an extensive list of breakfast menu, ranging from numerous styles of Omelettes, to Eggs Benedicts, to Eggs, Pancakes, and French Toasts. I was for one, lost for choices.

It’s not the most comfortable seats you can get around, but it gives you a kind of homely feeling to it, the colors, the furnishing, the table skirting.

Soy Latte ($3.75+) / Mocha ($3.25+) :: Beverages cost around $3, and that’s quite a considerably big amount cheaper than what we usually get in Singapore cafes. And what’s even more awesome than that? They taste the same, if not better than them. It looks simple, but they taste wholesome – just the right amount of bitterness and sweetness for the latter. It’s completely worth it for a hot beverage here.

Chocolate Crumbs :: Displayed, not on menu, Chocolate Crumbs is a combination of a crumble + cake. Ideal for a sweet tooth even on a lazy morning. Who gets sick of Chocolate anyway – any time, any day. Plus, it’s good.

Smoked Salmon Scrambled ($12.25+) :: Smoked Salmon and one would thought of the raw, salty smoked salmon you get that goes with Eggs Benedicts / Rosti. But this surprises me, and pleasantly too! Comes with a bagel with cream and their special grilled potatoes, this course is mainly made up of scrambled eggs (not the usual, fluffy and soft ones, but more cooked, towards fried) tossed together with onion and smoked salmon – smoked salmon that’s slightly cooked – not commonly seen in Singapore. It’s refreshing a course, and I have to say, thumbs up as everything seems just all right.

The Californian ($10.50+) :: If you’re a fan of Omelette, Mama’s would be a paradise for you. The Californian includes avocado, crispy bacon and Monterey Jack Cheese. The cheese was generously smeared onto the inside of the omelette, and I fell in love with it on the first mouth. If there’s one dissatisfying thing, it’d be the English Muffin. I guess sticking to the Bagel would be a better choice (you have a choice of toast – White, Rye, Wholegrain, Bagel, English Muffin).

You need to know too, that the portions are humungous. It might just be the carbohydrates, but be prepared for a super filling breakfast at this outstanding outlet. The queue doesn’t stop, not even up till 10.30am when we finished our breakfast (yes the queue was as long as when we got there at 8am). But for a good breakfast, waking up early is all worth it. The only downside to it would be the ambience I guess. Other than that, service was excellent, food, and watching them prepare the dishes in a systematic way, too cool. If so many people have tried and testify it, there’s no reason to not believe its worthiness of your time. It’s an All-Day Breakfast outlet, with lunch starting at 11am.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Indulgence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were on a road trip that didn't leave time for San Francisco but because we were passing through at about lunch time, decided to check out Trip Advisor's restaurant recommendations in North Beach. We drove straight to Mama's, saw a long line up that magically disappeared in the 10 minutes it took to find indoor parking nearby for only $10 for 2 hours. It would have been worth waiting in line. We caught the very end of their lunch service but weren't rushed or hurried at all. Really well organized system for moving orders through quickly without rushing you once you're at your table. The meals are seriously to die for, quirky place, really creative meals, beautiful to look at, filling and delicious. Definitely worth our quick stop in S.F.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The best breakfast in SF, bar none. Wait outside forty-five minutes or so, then inside for another ten. Order and pay (cash only). Server will bring to your table.

Worth it? You bet! Food is exquisite, and plentiful. The place is packed all morning, and for good reason.

Nothing like a hearty breakfast to start of the day in the city by the bay. Momma's is THE place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's on Washington Square also viewed

 

Been to Mama's on Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's on Washington Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.