We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It s not Italian food ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Contadina

Trattoria Contadina
1800 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133-2711 (Russian Hill)
415-982-5728
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Contadina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: Cable Car (Mason-Powell) line. Bus # 45, 41
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It s not Italian food ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The food is below average, pastas are floating in heavy sauces and have nothing to do with Italian food. Prices are as high as they get in San Francisco but the quality is really poor. Service is friendly and whine selection ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    69
    21
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a nice place to eat. The place is a little small so reservations are a must. The menu is in Italian as well. This place was a recommendation, so I was expecting more...but I didn't get it.
The food was good and the wine selection was decent, but it was good.There was only one bathroom for everyone and it was a bit dated and too small. I think it was too expensive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Small, old restaurent so reservations are highly recommended. Based on reviews and discussion with locals, thought this place would be great - however it did not live up to the hype. Roasted Pepper appetizer was fantastic, everything beyond that as good, not great. I am a bread junkie, and sad to report it was bland. Had the fish stew - generous portions with tons of a variety of fish in a tomatoe based broth - very good but then again not great. Got a side dish of pasta that I thought would give me a sense of their capabilties, but again it was good, not great.

They have a nice bar, other than that felt like I was eating in somebody's outdated kitchen. Others may consider that cozy, but it did not have enough charm for me.

With all the other great reviews/recommendations, I would definetly go back go check out again in hopes of a better experience that lives up to the hype.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Taste and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a restaurant that everyone visiting San Francisco should try. The service was just superb. The food size and taste were perfect. The seating is a little tight but this has been forgotten once the service started.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Heavenly meatballs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We hopped on a cable car with the intention of hopping off after 5 minutes and eating in the first place we found. Another passenger overheard our conversation and suggested we try Trattoria Contadina on Mason St as it is possibly the best Italian in the neighbourhood. When the driver agreed with her, but said we'd be lucky to get a table, we thought, 'we have to try!' Try we did, turned up without a reservation and managed to get the last table they had. We had all spied the meatballs on other diners' tables as we walked through the restaurant, and all ended up ordering the same dish! I can only comment on that one dish, but oh my, it was divine. Best meatballs I've ever had, with perfect pasta. For dessert one of our group had ice-cream, which is probably the best I've ever tasted, anywhere. My husband was so impressed, he asked if he could return tomorrow with a cone and buy a scoop! Lovely atmosphere, great staff. I would love to go back ;-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Contadina also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Trattoria Contadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Contadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.