We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly meatballs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Contadina

Trattoria Contadina
1800 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133-2711 (Russian Hill)
415-982-5728
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Contadina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #153 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: Cable Car (Mason-Powell) line. Bus # 45, 41
Youghal, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Heavenly meatballs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We hopped on a cable car with the intention of hopping off after 5 minutes and eating in the first place we found. Another passenger overheard our conversation and suggested we try Trattoria Contadina on Mason St as it is possibly the best Italian in the neighbourhood. When the driver agreed with her, but said we'd be lucky to get a table, we thought, 'we have to try!' Try we did, turned up without a reservation and managed to get the last table they had. We had all spied the meatballs on other diners' tables as we walked through the restaurant, and all ended up ordering the same dish! I can only comment on that one dish, but oh my, it was divine. Best meatballs I've ever had, with perfect pasta. For dessert one of our group had ice-cream, which is probably the best I've ever tasted, anywhere. My husband was so impressed, he asked if he could return tomorrow with a cone and buy a scoop! Lovely atmosphere, great staff. I would love to go back ;-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    69
    21
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beyond Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Trattoria Contadina is a neighborhood gem owned and run by a young, friendly couple who know their guests and treat everyone as family. Recipes are both old favorites and originals with flair. They incorporate local produce and cheese and feature an extensive, reasonably priced wine list. Weekend brunch is also a huge hit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West orange
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Jersey Guy Geno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I visited the great city of San Fran twice last year once with my wife only and again with her and the kids. On a tour the guide recommended Trattoria Contadina and we gave it a try. I have to say this place was the eating highlight of our trip both times. The food is not only great but the staff was friendly, attentive , quick and informative. The food is over the top. Like gramma's kitchen. If you are in SF make sure this is on your list twice. It's awesome ! Take it from a New Jersey food lover this place will not disappoint.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Italian Defined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to this little out of the way place in North Beach. The streets around this restaurant are pretty quiet, at least on a weekday night, but the restaurant was energetic, cozy and romantic. Only complaint was the place was a little too warm for some reason (we were sweating and it wasn't hot out). The pasta is well done with several worthwhile options on the menu and the bread, wine and dessert were each outstanding. Wine list has several exellent, affordable options. Service is very good (your water glass never gets anywhere near full before an attendant refills it for you, as a example), and watching flames leap from the open kitchen in back is something of a show. We're hopeless tourists always looking for anything approaching a local flavor, and this gave us a sense we were dining where locals go - I don't care whether that's the case or not, that sense was something that added to the dinner experience. I would recommend it and would love to go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“North Beach Italian on Autopilot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose this restaurant because the reviews here were so positive and because we were going to see Beach Blanket Babylon two blocks away. The meal didn't start well - bruschetta with tomatoes that were so cold they must have come from a long time in the refrigerator and the bread tasted stale (also not a hint of olive oil or basil anywhere). In fact, the majority of the food tasted like it had either been prepped way too early or had spent too much time in the walk-in. Ravioli were overcooked. Tiramisu was listless. The one highlight was my red snapper piccata which was bright and perfectly cooked. The atmosphere was old school San Francisco North Beach - which we love and respect. Walls covered with sports photos and memorabilia. Cozy. Low key. Overall, we'd give it a C.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Contadina also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Trattoria Contadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Contadina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.