We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Grill

Golden Gate Grill
449 Powell Street, 3rd Floor, San Francisco, CA 94102
415-981-8646
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,459 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sutter
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

In expectation of our San Francisco trip, I bought a groupon for this place for 2 breakfast entrees and mimosas for $10. Pretty great snag. When we got there, the waitress let us know that they no longer served breakfast at the place. I was expecting them to give us $10 credit towards a meal, but they went over and above.

The manager apologized (not that the change in menu is his fault) and gave us credit for two lunch entrees and mimosas! We got oj, coffee, a bacon cheeseburger and bbq pork sliders - both came with french fries that were PERFECT. That is definitely more than 2 breakfast entrees so I know they were just being crazy accommodating - we really appreciated it and left a big tip for our waitress. She was attentive and so very nice - my boyfriend asked for "extra bacon" on his burger and she came out with a plate and like six pieces. It was almost embarrassing.

This place is a great location (right off the cable car stop) but you might not find it if you're not paying attention - look up (way up) for the sign! I'd highly recommend - the food was great American pub food and the service cannot be beat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalaheo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“unexpected find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

By chance we stumbled upon this door and stairs, 3 flights worth, to find a great lunch. Good service and food. Later, that night went back for clam chowder, excellent. Lots of clams in thick creamy bowl.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A good place to go to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went there with some friends as we were traveling through San Francisco. As tourists we really enjoyed the food and environment. We went for lunch and it wasn't too crowded or overpriced.

Great service and the people were really friendly, the food was enjoyable but nothing to freak out about (although the sweet potato fries were really good). I recommend you go there at least once to give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Order the clam chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Slow night so it was not crowded, good thing since our waiter was in no hurry. The clam chowder was very good and so was the calamari. Nicely decorated and the booth was comfortably. The spacing was nice compared to it's neighboring restaurant, Sears.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time even thinking about dining here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

In a city known for great restaurants, this is not one of those places. They need new management and quickly. We arrived early for our reservation for four at 8:00pm on a Friday night. The restaurant is very open so you can see all of the tables and the bar. About three quarters of the tables had diners and the rest were vacant. In spite of the vacant tables we still had to wait 15 minutes for a table. In the meantime, I went to the bar to order drinks for my guests. I waited for ten minutes, the bartender never showed and no one in management noticed or cared that I was not getting service at the bar. We were then escorted to one of the vacant tables. We again ordered drinks, two arrived quickly but the third arrived after the entrée was delivered. It took nearly 30 minutes for the entrees to arrive. The food was average bar style food but the poor service overshadowed the entire dining experience. Skip this establishment!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Gate Grill also viewed

 

Been to Golden Gate Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.