We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Mediterranee

La Mediterranee
2210 Fillmore St, San Francisco, CA 94115-2222
415-921-2956
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #974 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Saw the great reviews, checked out this place and the food was a real disappointment! I had the pomegranate chicken. The chicken was SO dry I felt like I was eating hair! The flavor wasn't that appealing either. The only reason why I gave it even a star is because the rice and hummus was pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    29
    33
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Passable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

...in the sense that it's just about okay and in the sense that it's worth passing on by.

The hot mezes were lukewarm and the speed with which they arrived suggested that they were sat on a hotplate somewhere. The cold ones were reasonable enough although the houmous was very smooth and very thin, almost sauce-like in consistency, and was served with cold pitta.

Overall not great, but not terrible either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Visited on my daughter's recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very eclectic looking place. Small, but near full upon arrival at 6:15 and crammed with waiting when we finished. Very much a very casual cafe. We had a good meal. The special was a vegetarian Moussaka so I took that and my wife a mediterranean salad with lots to sample. Moussaka was tasty, but different than meat based ones in Greece. Salad was fine with OK hummus. Soup was a pureed chicken rice with a fairly strong lemon flavor, which was very good. Bacalava was different but tasty. It was difficult not to compare the food with a Syrian restaurant at home which is fabulous (Cafe Raka Hendersonville, TN) We had a nice evening and a decent meal. However, we rode two cable cars and walked 30-40 min each way. Would not do it again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“lovely food and lots to choose from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have been to this restaurant on at least three occasions when visiting San Francisco. This latest visit to it for lunch was as good as usual.

There is so much to choose from it's difficult to decide what to have. The locality is good - not in the middle of the tourist areas. The staff are efficient and helpful and the food is wonderful.

We wish we lived closer as we would eat here regularly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Waiter was helpful with explaining dishes and we finally decided on the Mediterranean meza, a sampler of various foods. Many of them when quite delicious, especially the baba ganoush, tabbouleh, filo items, grape leaves. The wine we had went well with the food. Service was attentive, but not rushed. Wish we lived closer to this place!


Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mediterranee also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to La Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mediterranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.