We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zuni Cafe

Zuni Cafe
1658 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5949
415-552-2522
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zuni Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 4,920 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary, Californian, Café, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Franklin & Gough
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A local newspaper columnist had raved about Zuni's roast chicken in a review so we reserved for our trip to San Fran this year. Arriving after a weary day of sightseeing we had booked an early table with our 8 yr old. A friend had recommended the Bloody Marys......great suggestion they're delicious.
Then came the chicken - fantastic! Roasted, cut up and served with toasted bread stuffing and greens. We tried, but there was no way the 3 of us could finish it all....lesson for next time was that we could have forgone the starter (the Bloody Mary would have done on its own) and saved room for the chicken.
Somehow in my mind I had imagined Zuni as being a little quaint and rustic - it's actually modern and stylish. After the meal we simply crossed the street to take the tram and head back to the hotel.....can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    224
    139
    54
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Vibrant, Exciting and the Place To Be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a restaurant! The place was alive with laughter and filled with the aroma of roasting chickens. The restaurant has many levels with high ceilings and glass frontage to the street. The menu was a little strange but that was okay as we had several people tell us to order the chicken. And we did. The menu says it takes an hour to prepare this dish but as it turned out ours came within 40 minutes. Of course there are many chickens in the oven all nightlong but I wish ours had actually spent a few more minutes in the fire. It was moist with a delicious flavor but to my disappointment it did not come off the bone easily. It was good but nothing to rave about. There was a good wine list and our server was very pleasant. I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“The Top 10 Burger & Roasted Chicken for Two.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

First things first, if you're lucky to get in for lunch OR for late dinner (past 10pm), they have this amazing flatbread burger. It's on the "wetter" side (not open-faced/dry without cheese), but it's quite the experience. I wasn't a big fan of the string fries, but that was a small penance to pay for an amazing patty.

The second thing is that this is an EXCELLENT venue for celebrating an anniversary or a second date. The budget can swing both ways, and that's what makes Zuni Cafe such an establishment in San Francisco.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our experience at this restaurant was really disappointing, the waitress had a not too friendly attitude and the menu was the least appealing. It seemed that the majority of the patrons ordered the roasted chicken....possibly our mistake since we did not want to wait the one hour required to get it cooked. I had an insipid salad and some baby clams with slices of chorizo so thin it was impossible to provide any flavor to the dish. We could not wait to get out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were invited for a anniversary dinner at Zuni's. The place is busy and vibrant, good location and great menu. I started with a refreshing Elderflower cocktail until we got our table allocated in the mezzanine floor. The service itself was very low key, cordial. We ordered some starters to share and for main we all had the famous baked chicken with the bread salad…stunning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuni Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA

Been to Zuni Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zuni Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.